Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:12 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default O/C Fsb and Ram

I am planning to O/C my e8400 close to 4ghz (depending on V-core needed and temperature). At that speed my FSB will be 1800. If I want to run my memory 1:1 this mean I will have to force it to go at about 890.

- My memory sticks are Ocz Platinum ddr2 800, can they do that ? If so :
- What should I use to stress test the memory at those speeds ? Memtest ?
- If not, Would a 5:4 ratio diminush the actual speed of my PC ?
- Is there any gain for me to use faster, like some 1066 ddr2 ?

I run xp, is 4 gig good or I should stay 2 gig ?


thanks and sorry for the multiple questions !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:16 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I think your memory will limit you. They may go that high but it seems pretty steep to me, why not grab some ddr2-1000 - should give you the room you need.

Hell, try it out.. you may be lucky but 90mhz is pretty steep if you ask me, I could be wrong though.

5:4 wouldn't dimish the speed; it should increase it but you'll get higher temps than if you stayed in 1:1.

Use memtest and OCCT/PRIME95.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:23 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

In order:

The OCZ Platinums I had tapped out at about 870. Your mileage may vary.
For stress testing, I recommend Prime95 or Orthos.
If you can underclock the ratio, it will have some effect on your "overall" speed. Probably similar to loosening the timings to 6-6-6-18.
Yes, the advantage of 1066 memory is you could run it at a 4:5 ratio. My system runs at 9x445 with the mem at 1068mhz.

XP 2GB vs. 4GB. XP 32 bit uses a max of 3gb. If all you do is gaming, you probably wouldn't see much difference. I never saw any game use more than 2GB total myself. If you multitask or use Photoshop or other mem intensive programs, it might be worth it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2008, 10:28 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Wow what quick answer....

I'll just bench the memory and see where it goes. Occt I use it for CPU benching, I'll just change the test.

Finally, what should my choice go for the 1066 ? Munskin, Ocz, crucial ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 223
Default

Correct me if Im wrong but running the RAM at slower speeds than the FSB will mean the FSB has to wait till the RAM is effectively ready (refreshed) for the next lot of data and thus cause a Bottleneck at a 5:4 Ratio, but if you run the RAM at 4:5 (which only Intel will give any differences) you may actually get a little more performance.

"This solution, however, isn't ideal. Running the FSB and RAM with a ratio causes gaps in between the time that the FSB can communicate with the RAM. This causes slowdowns that wouldn't be there if the RAM and the FSB were running at the same speed. If you want the most speed out of your system, using an FSB:RAM ratio wouldn't be the best solution."

Overclocking Guide - MajorGeeks Support Forums

You can find other articles on this affect as well.
__________________
Q6600@3.15Ghz|CNPS9500|GA-EP45T Extreme|GSkill 2GB 1333MHz|Sapphire 4850|OZC GameXtreme 700|XP64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
I am planning to O/C my e8400 close to 4ghz (depending on V-core needed and temperature). At that speed my FSB will be 1800. If I want to run my memory 1:1 this mean I will have to force it to go at about 890.

- My memory sticks are Ocz Platinum ddr2 800, can they do that ? If so :
- What should I use to stress test the memory at those speeds ? Memtest ?
- If not, Would a 5:4 ratio diminush the actual speed of my PC ?
- Is there any gain for me to use faster, like some 1066 ddr2 ?

I run xp, is 4 gig good or I should stay 2 gig ?


thanks and sorry for the multiple questions !
any good ddr2-800 should be able to hit 900 if not 950 if it GOOD.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:49 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

My EM2-6400s do 1000 @ 5-5-5-15 w/2.1V...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My EM2-6400s do 1000 @ 5-5-5-15 w/2.1V...
Exactly and you maybe even able to drop the voltage or timings
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:54 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Exactly and you maybe even able to drop the voltage or timings
Tried that while folding: no go. It needed 2.1V for stability, and any tighter timings meant errored WUs...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2008, 06:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Tried that while folding: no go. It needed 2.1V for stability, and any tighter timings meant errored WUs...
Ah! But you still got it to a speed faster than it should be ;)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes