Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 12:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond B.C.
Posts: 126
Default 16gb ram vs 8gb

usage is for gaming and streaming, any reason why 16gb is needed?

any cheap prices for ncix or ME that is good? ddr4 btw
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 12:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,103
Default

I don't think 16GB would make a difference for gaming and streaming unless you have a ton of stuff running in the background. However, you may want to consider what you will do with the rig in the future. Assuming a standard 4 slot board, 2x4GB now will give you room for additional 2x16GB max (unless they have 32GB sticks later). If you're on a cheaper or small board, then 2x8GB would be a good balance IMO. Crucial basic 2x8GB is $85 this week on NCIX. Gskill is $90 for the same amount and a tad faster with a heatsink. I personally don't overclock and usually go with basic stuff but a heatsink does seem like a good feature for another $5. Gskill 8GB version is $50.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 03:54 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,111

My System Specs

Default

I'd have to disagree. 8GB these days is not enough IMO and 16GB is the "minimum" in my eyes.

I'm sitting here at my desktop using Chrome and I'm using 4.1GB.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 04:12 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 4,477

My System Specs

Default

Pretty much agree. 8gb is sufficient most of the time now, but things are trending towards more than that. I recommend 16gb now IF you can fit it in the budget...otherwise go with 8, but make sure you have the empty ram slots to bring it up to 16gb in the not too distant future.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 04:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,413

My System Specs

Default

I'd personally recommend going with 16GB just to be on the safe side as well.

Here's a question for any of you programmers out there.... are WinRT "apps" less or more efficient with resources over decently written Win32 programs? My (admittedly uninformed) impression is that they're a lot less efficient.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Intel 760p 512GB NVMe / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 04:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,111

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Here's a question for any of you programmers out there.... are WinRT "apps" less or more efficient with resources over decently written Win32 programs? My (admittedly uninformed) impression is that they're a lot less efficient.
I don't think it's a huge concern since Win10 is supposed to manage memory appropriately ;) It should suspend those apps as needed, much like your phone does.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 04:49 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,980

My System Specs

Default

I'd say 8GB is fine....if you don't use Chrome . Firefox w/ ~40 tabs open right now is only use 1.5GB.


On my system I have 14GB of ram that isn't reserved for the cache. I generally always have at least 5GB free. I've only had Windows tell me once that I was low on memory. That was when I left Lightroom open in the background, while playing a game. Damn app takes like 6GB just doing nothing.
__________________
The Crippled God WIP
Queen of Dreams WIP
Big Lian Li
Complete
Forever Alone Complete

Last edited by lowfat; September 7, 2016 at 05:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 06:52 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5,080
Default

All my builds now have 16GB or more. RAM is cheap, so why cheap out on it?

And for the record. Waterfox 64bit 270tabs open 22gb of ram used, Cyberfox 64bit 250tabs another 20GB used. Its why I always build 64GB for myself :P
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2016, 07:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond Hill, Ontario
Posts: 165
Default

Buy the Ram while its cheap. Last thing you want is another typhoon/tsunami hitting supply depots and spiking prices for a few years like last time. Remember when prices doubled cause of it last time? Same with HDD's lol. 16GB DDR4 is ~$100 now which is where it will probably stabilize. It was like $180 at the start of the year.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2016, 05:23 AM
Rison's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 1,132

My System Specs

Default

I agree with everyone else here, RAM is cheap and 16G is the min I put in a desktop system for gaming.
Hell, I put 16G in office workstations. Mainly because (as said) RAM is cheap right now and can spike at any time.

As for pricing, it changes weekly with the sales and whatnot. I always watch the daily deals on NCIX and NewEgg (as the main two) and I would wait until something good comes up with the spec you want, under $100 and try to get free shipping in there too. :)

Also, go 2x8G, not 4x4G. Future expansion and all.
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] 16gb or more ram TTC Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 23, 2014 08:09 PM
[WTB] 8-16GB RAM Uberg33k Buy/Sell & Trade 1 February 9, 2014 01:11 AM
[WTB] win 8, 16gb ram and PSU Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 13 September 18, 2013 03:51 AM
16Gb James Bond 007 RAM 2 December 23, 2011 12:34 PM
8gb VS 16gb Jonesy RAM 36 September 25, 2011 05:21 PM