Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
View Poll Results: Which ram would you use?
G.Skill 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 timings (4x 2GB sticks) 5 50.00%
Giel 2400Mhz 11-13-13-30 (2x 4GB Sticks) 5 50.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2016, 04:27 AM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default Which ram would you use?

I have 2 sets of ram DDR3 Ram,Which would you use and why?
  • G.Skill 1600Mhz 7-8-7-24 timings (4x 2GB sticks)
  • Giel 2400Mhz 11-13-13-30 (2x 4GB Sticks)

Faster ram with worse timings,Or slower ram but with better timings?

If it makes any diffrence to know my specs -
  • i7 3770K
  • Z77X-UD3H
  • GTX 970
  • 2x 840 EVO 250GB Raid0
  • Xonar Essence STX
  • IntelPro 1000PT Server Nic
  • Windows 10 x64 bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2016, 05:02 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,002

My System Specs

Default

Definetly the giel. Frequency has a much bigger effect than timings. As ram gets faster it usually has looser timings anyway...if you were talking tight timings on 1600mhz vs loose timings at 1866 it would be so close it wouldn't really matter, but that is 50% faster ram.

That said it is going to be a relatively small gain (single digit % increase in performance).
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2016, 05:31 AM
Lysrin's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 947

My System Specs

Default

I agree with Bond007 for the technical points. Another reason in my mind would be that the Giel gives you two spare RAM slots for adding more RAM later. 8 GB these days is starting to feel a little tight, so assuming you can get similar RAM to the Giel (or ideally the same) you can easily pop in two more to go to 16 GB or more when you need it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2016, 10:33 AM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for replying all,

Well i just done comparison benchmarks with the two rams.

On both 3D Mark & Passmark i get higher system score with the 1600mhz ram, beats the 2400Mhz,Not a huge amount but still beats it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2016, 11:29 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevakonaza View Post
Thanks for replying all,

Well i just done comparison benchmarks with the two rams.

On both 3D Mark & Passmark i get higher system score with the 1600mhz ram, beats the 2400Mhz,Not a huge amount but still beats it.
Did you make sure in the bios that the freq and timings were all set as rated? It won't default to 2400...it should not score lower.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2016, 01:14 AM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Did you make sure in the bios that the freq and timings were all set as rated? It won't default to 2400...it should not score lower.
Yeah,I set it to Profile 1 and it ran at 2400Mhz.

What tests would you recommend i run to compare?

I tried 3D Mark & Passmark and both scored lower when using the 2400.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2016, 09:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,085
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevakonaza View Post
Yeah,I set it to Profile 1 and it ran at 2400Mhz.

What tests would you recommend i run to compare?

I tried 3D Mark & Passmark and both scored lower when using the 2400.
makes no sense
i been overclocking ram for over 15 years and i always get higher scores overclocked
even if you run 6-6-6-18 @1600mhz you will not get better scores
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2016, 02:38 PM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 81

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
makes no sense
i been overclocking ram for over 15 years and i always get higher scores overclocked
even if you run 6-6-6-18 @1600mhz you will not get better scores
I know,Im confused too..il re-run the tests tomorrow and post comparison shots.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2016, 05:58 PM
MARSTG's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,627

My System Specs

Default

Higher frequency would matter if you need the bandwidth : like shared memory for an APU. If that is not the case Intel CPUs always favored lower timings. Me i would use the max speed the chipset supports officially, not what the mfg claims support for ovc memory, but at the lowest timings, and that is why you have better results with the slower ram but tighter timings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2016, 10:58 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Down under
Posts: 4,002

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
Higher frequency would matter if you need the bandwidth : like shared memory for an APU. If that is not the case Intel CPUs always favored lower timings. Me i would use the max speed the chipset supports officially, not what the mfg claims support for ovc memory, but at the lowest timings, and that is why you have better results with the slower ram but tighter timings.
I completely agree that ram frequency matters the most if you are using integrated graphics, but I completely disagree that current (and the past few gen) of intel CPU prefer timings.

I have tested my ram from 1333 to 2000mhz (it is rated for 1600mhz) and my best results were at 1866mhz (timings slightly loosened over 1600mhz, but when I go to 2000 I have to loosen the timings quite a bit for it to be stable). I am running an ivy bridge cpu like Nevakonaza.

Here is a review testing ram frequency and timings on ivy bridge (3770k). You can see for yourself that there are gains to be had. There are very few programs that run better on timings over frequency. That all said the gains aren't huge, and do fade out as you get higher (especially the jump from 2133 to 2400).

Choosing the Best DDR3 SDRAM for Ivy Bridge - X-bit labs

Maybe try the ram at 2133 and see if you can tighten the timings.
__________________
Desktop: Arc Midi R2, Z77-D3H, 3570K 1.09v/4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, XFX R9 280X DD, Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes