Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2015, 02:31 AM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 733

My System Specs

Default When will we see Double Density Ram?

Iv been putting off new dedicated gaming server till I seen ddr 4 post more then speed increases. I'm wondering if anyone has heard of any dates for that or has double density been scrapped from spec and all well get is faster ram with lower voltage?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2015, 05:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,612
Default

Maybe I'm missed something, but what exactly is double density ram?

What more do you want from ddr4? It's faster, less power ...?

dedicated gaming server? Like to host a/some game(s)?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2015, 08:48 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 733

My System Specs

Default

Double density ram as in ddr4 spec is supposed to support 16 Gb dimes instead of the regular 4-8 Gb per dimm like ddr 3 at the moment. The server will be dedicated game servers for games that offer it through steam. And speed is fine but it's not giving much performance like my ddr 3 corsair Platinum are 2400mhz I won't see much difference in 3200mhz ram. I was hoping they'd release higher density ram by now. Instead of needing 8 dimes for say 64 Gb I'd only need 4 ddr 4 dimes to achieve same density.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 08:45 AM
WiseWilson's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Outskirts of the GTA
Posts: 138
Default

16GB DDR4 PC4-17000 Registered ECC 1.2V 2048Meg x 72, CT16G4RFD4213 from Crucial.com

Perhaps I am missing what you are asking but it seems 16gb kits are here.

Kingston KVR21R15D4K4/64 64GB 4X16GB Kits DDR4-2133MHZ DR X4 ECC Reg CL15 DIMM Quad Channel Memory - KVR21R15D4K4/64

I think newegg sells a 128gb kit in 32gb sticks for 3k I beleive as well. It all rated at a speed of 2133mhz though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 09:34 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Holy crap that's some pricey ram
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2015, 11:06 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 3,079

My System Specs

Default

It's ECC and high density(as in how much per stick)... Not your normal desktop stuff.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
DeeraxTheCoolNemo: "I never preSs CaPLoCK I just HiT my keyS so Hard ThEY Crit"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2015, 01:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 27
Default

From what I understand, aside from speed, there is lower voltages, better power management, and better error detection, prevention, and correction. The last bit is important I believe because with the increased amounts of the capacity, errors will be more possible.
Edit: Here's a 64gb kit in 2 x 32gb - Crucial 64GB (2 x 32GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM ECC DDR4 2133 (PC4-17000) Server Memory Model CT2K32G4LFQ4213 - Newegg.ca so higher density stuff is out

Last edited by staringatsidewalks; February 2, 2015 at 02:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2015, 09:00 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 733

My System Specs

Default

Ahh that's what I was looking forward to now I can jump on x99 didn't want to get into new ddr standard if it's not giving higher density sticks. My gaming server will be pleased once I can source a Intel nvme drive lol.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 10:39 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,612
Default

.. For the cost of that Ram I'd just build two 'smaller' servers.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2015, 09:13 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 733

My System Specs

Default

Oh I will be running with a Ws board and fill it with ram that's available I'll grab the higher density when starts dropping knowing it exists means I can start building process. Didn't want to start if ddr 4 was going to be ddr 3 just with lower voltage and higher useless speed. Now I can start a build log once taxes come in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Density SuicidalPanda RAM 1 January 10, 2012 10:18 PM
Double Dragon Case Mod-reverse double ATX) Dalchi Frusche Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 November 10, 2011 09:46 PM
[WTB] DDR 1GB x 2: PC-2700 low density for desktop Borg Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 15, 2011 08:39 AM
How to know if a ram is High Density? hohohee RAM 0 April 23, 2009 05:42 PM
Western Digital Ups Platter Density, to Launch 2 TB HDD EaGle1337 Press Releases & Tech News 16 January 14, 2009 09:39 AM