Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2014, 06:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
Default Overclocking Corsair Dominator Platinum

Hey quick question I have some Corsair Dominator Platinum memory
2 x 8gb Ultra-low 9-9-9-24 1.5v @ 1600mhz
Just wondering I have tried loosening timings a bit and upping the voltage to 1.65v to try and get 1866 or 2400 etc but I cant get the OS to boot and get memory errors during post as well depending on the timings.... anyone have any luck on an OC on this memory?

My other components are:
Asus Maximus VI Impact
i7-4770k
Asus GTX 780
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2014, 07:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

What is your CPU clock? Yes this matters with overclocking haswell memory.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2014, 07:47 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 635

My System Specs

Default

It could be limited to the mem controller on cpu. I got the 4x8Gb Dominator Platinum kit and oced it to 2688 with out issue. But anything past 1600mhz is considered a overclock I think.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 4, 2014, 08:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 25
Default

Right now @ 4.0ghz on my i7-4770k
My mobo is the Asus Maximus VI impact
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CORSAIR High End Dominator Platinum - DDR3 2800C11 Review windwithme RAM 6 June 5, 2013 11:21 AM
[FS] !! SOLD !! DDR3 Corsair Dominator Platinum 2133Mhz Alpine Buy/Sell & Trade 5 April 25, 2013 04:58 PM
Corsair Releases ‘Dominator’ Platinum DDR3 Memory Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 4 June 25, 2012 01:56 PM