Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 08:34 PM
eltiti55555's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 94
Default I mixed some RAM, should I be afraid?

So I bought these stick of RAM for $50, and I have added ONLY one of them so far to my PC.

The RAM seems to be working just fine, but I was looking around and I saw ppl saying that I shouldn't mix ram with different timings and frequencies.

What do you guys think about this?

My current specs can be seen below.
__________________
Motherboard: Gigabyte P67A-UD4-B3 ATX LGA1155
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.5Ghz (TB On)
Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws X F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL 8GB
Video Card x2: Gigabyte Windforce 7950 Boost @1100/1350 || AMD Radeon R9 280 Double Dissipation Edition @ 1100/1350
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB SATA3 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB Cache 3.5IN Dual Proc Hard Drive OEM
SSD: Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply: XFX XTR Series 750W PSU
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium Edition 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 08:42 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

if anything it just wont post or wont be stable, i wouldn't worry about any real damage, it should just run at the frequency of the lowest stick if im not mistaken
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2013, 07:55 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

You should be fine. The BIOS should simply set everything down to the lowest common denominator. If you've manually set your BIOS settings for RAM, that may be different.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2014, 09:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 15
Default

yep, should be good to go, I've done that before on old DDR 2 sticks.. as long as you post and are able to get into Windows you should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2014, 04:00 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,016

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine...worst case it doesn't boot or you get errors, and then you remove a stick
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 23, 2014, 06:09 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 560

My System Specs

Default

Just make sure to run memtest on both sticks individually. Chances are like everyone said, you should be fine as long as you scale to the Lowest common denominators, but you want to make sure the sticks are good first so if you do get errors, you don't mistakenly attribute them to the sticks not jiving together
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2014, 03:59 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,828

My System Specs

Default

TLDR; If it's stable your fine, it's generally not advised because it can cause issues but if it's working, don't worry.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else afraid of McAfee's website today? BlueByte Off Topic 6 November 14, 2012 05:50 PM
More Mixed News for RIM... BeaverBender Mobile Computing 4 November 2, 2012 11:31 PM
Mixed... Folding? Dr_BenD_over HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 November 7, 2009 10:53 PM
Mixed GPU Folding CasheKicker HardwareCanucks F@H Team 22 March 25, 2009 03:26 PM