Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2013, 05:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 166
Default X79 Quad Channel DDR3-2400 vs DDR3 1600 real world

X79 Quad Channel DDR3-2400 vs DDR3 1600 real world

WIll I see any performance difference other then just benchmarks?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2013, 08:47 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

Far as iv read ram speed really only benefits apus higher clocked ram actually made a differance in integrated graphics on apu. Seen a article on maxium pc about this very subject they tested 1800-2400mhz I think.

Last edited by Shadowarez; December 5, 2013 at 08:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2013, 09:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68

My System Specs

Default

Real world.

Nope. You will not see a difference.

I am running Kingston HyperX Black 1600 4x4 from a 6x4 kit.

$240.00 for 1866 4x4 kit would have very little increase, I would not detect.

Them money would be better spent on Video card upgrade.

I run my 1600 memory at 1066 on my x58 system. I never notice a difference.

To reach anything over 1866 (ie 2400) on a x79 system requires overclocking. :)

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Last edited by Starage; December 24, 2013 at 09:10 AM. Reason: added more
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2014, 08:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: In a basement
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

Very very specific applications actually take advantage of higher frequencies, but generally 99% of the time, no.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2014, 08:34 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,766

My System Specs

Default

It's not worth spending loads on but there are some good kits at prices very close to 1600, I would spend an extra $20 or so if it's the difference between 1600 and 2100 or similar.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2014, 09:16 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

Iv read higher rated kits like the 2400mhz ones help in Encoding and Rendering Tasks. Why I went with Corsair Dominator's Platiums for my Ultra Highend Rig just waiting on last kit to arrive 64GB of DDR 3 2400mhz should do well with cache features on ssds and a Ramdrive.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2014, 10:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

x79 chips all have honking big caches, so it negates benefits of quad channel for everyday applications even more so than normal.

But having quad channel is very handy in the case of using terribly aligned and poorly optimized software.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 16, 2014, 06:51 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

So basically itll be a bandaid for windows then, since itll help with poorly optimized code lol.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2014, 06:04 PM
marc_0053's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 26

My System Specs

Default

I did this switch a year ago and have seen improvements in benchmarks but zero improvement in games that I could see (not measured)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2014, 08:50 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 305
Default

Its hard to see the improvements.

But i have seen negative effects of memory running out of proper spec. Load time increases ect.
Im not saying a properly timed 2400 mhz kit will be noticeable over a properly timed 1600mhz kit.

But i am saying why not get the faster kit esp if they are similarly priced.

One stipulation i will throw out to you though is that for instance many 2133 kits will run @ 2400-2800mhz "even sometimes 3000mhz" speeds with often same or lower timings then the actual 2400 kits will do.

Thats the route i would take. save a few $ and get same or better performance just do a tad bit of research first.

I haven't had luck ocing the 1600Mhz kits I do have but Most will run lower then 9-9-9-24-1T Standard timings already so Im content with their performance.

I would just make sure the sticks you buy are tightest timings so you don't experience increased load times and latencies on the mem bandwidth.

I would not be surprized if my 1600mhz 7-7-7-18-1T kit is just as fast as my 2666mhz 11-13-11-30-2T kit
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Talent Introduces 2133 MHz Over-Clocked Quad-Channel DDR3 Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 3 March 2, 2012 11:08 AM
G.Skill launches its new RipjawsZ Quad-Channel DDR3 Memory Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 14, 2011 11:41 AM
[FS] Gigabyte P55-UD6 & Crucial 4GB DDR3-1600 C7/DDR3-1920 C9 Combo - $SOLD MAC Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 11, 2010 08:39 AM
[FS] FS: 2x1gb OCZ ddr3-1600 2x2gb Patriot ddr3-1600 Razer copperhead MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 8 February 14, 2009 09:45 AM
Mushkin 6GB DDR3-1600 vs. Corsair 6GB DDR3-1600 ImmaPC RAM 10 December 31, 2008 12:54 AM