Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 08:56 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,353

My System Specs

Default is it true t hat DDR4 ram is cominmg soon?

I am not exactly sure where I read it but I read somewhere that DDR4 ram is coming out very soon and it is supposed to use 1.051.2 V and be twice as fast as DDR3, if this is true that I would imagine that the whole hard ware will be changing agian like the motherboards and probably the CPU would also need to be changed,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 09:10 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,565

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't worry about DDR4 for a while yet.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 10:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

It may be out this year, but do you have a motherboard that can use DDR4... Also, most people won't see any real world benefits.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 11:17 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,083

My System Specs

Default

Its Mentioned on one off the " Dam Good Shows" so its in the Pipeline when ??
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 09:57 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

less voltage yes, more per stick yes, speed wise will not be overall much a benfit over current good speed ddr3 which MOST run at 1600 or better speeds the latency will have to be higher so for it to start at 2133 with loose timings will be +/- ddr3 at 1600 with tighter timings.

No motherboard can currently use DDR4 and its cost I can bet will be very $ to begin with just like DDR3 just like DDR2 were. anyways
DDR4 memory could make an appearance as early as next month | TweakTown
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 10:06 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

DDR4 "Could" be something to wait to upgrade for. For instance I'm "working" on a haswell upgrade that wont be done until march or April and i"m thinking of seeing what happens between now and then before committing to what i'm looking at right now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 10:47 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 444

My System Specs

Default

My upgrade is probably two years off - and if I retire maybe longer - so my next rig will probably have DDR5 eh?
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 16, 2013, 10:52 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

not at the current rate, 2007 is (if I recall correctly and after as much as i've had to drink tonight I might be off) when DDR3 was released, you'll probably be safe for 5-6 years before DDR5 system memory.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2013, 02:56 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,083

My System Specs

Default

2009 When I baught 6 GB of DDR3 Tripple Channel 1600 that was expensive still got them wil run 7-6-7 at 1600.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 17, 2013, 06:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,509

My System Specs

Default

haswell-e is supposed to bring ddr4 to the table, but i think it will have better effect with the AMD APUs, as they share a lot of memory from the system. IDF13: Intel Demonstrates Haswell-E CPU With DDR4 Memory On X99 Chipset Based Motherboard
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[EXCLUSIVE] Intel 2014 Haswell-E to pack 8 cores, DDR4, X99 PCH [VR Zone] EmptyMellon Reviews & Articles from the Web 14 June 19, 2013 09:31 PM
Crucial Shows off DDR4 Modules & Technology SKYMTL RAM 13 January 21, 2013 05:50 PM
Samsung Starts Sampling 16GB DDR4 Modules Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 3 July 5, 2012 03:22 AM
DDR4 to Arrive in 2014? Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 6 April 17, 2012 10:34 AM
[FS] N-Sanity's TERRA-sale (4gb pc133; 5.5gb ddr4; 7x80gb, 1x160gb, 4xagp's, raid, etc!) n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 25 January 3, 2010 09:40 PM