Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 04:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 211

My System Specs

Angry CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB - crap?

I bought one of these kits,
Newegg.ca - CORSAIR Vengeance LP 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 Desktop Memory Model CML8GX3M2A1866C9B

to go with an Asus F2A85-M Pro and an A10-6800K, though I did use an A4-5300 for a week or so

Now when I built it at first, I couldn't get the ram to run at 1866 on it's rated specs, couldn't even get it to boot without raising the voltage a lot but it still wasn't stable. I assumed it may have been the CPU limiting me since the specs for the cpu say the max mem speed was lower, I may have been wrong, but yeah

But then I swapped in the A10-6800 and tried bumping up the memory speed, same problem.

Now I'll be going home this morning to test each stick individually to see if it's one stick holding it back, or both, or something else, but I wondered if anyone else here has had experience with that kit?

but since I upgraded, I also had a new fan burnout, smoke and all, plus, the system just goes down to a crawl at random, can't tell if it's the whole system, or just the ui which could be attributed to ram still because the IGP will share memory, and well, bad fans happen sometimes
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 04:26 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Bad PSU possibly?
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 04:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 211

My System Specs

Default

I ran prime on it for a bit and kept an eye on the voltages, everything was well, well within range spec
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 04:58 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Make sure the mobo isn't messing with the Auto timings. I've had my F2A85-M PRO misread the SPD numerous times, either applying too much voltage or lowering the timings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 05:08 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 211

My System Specs

Default

i tried setting it all manually to 1866mhz, 1.5v, 9-10-9-27 timings (what's on the sticker ), won't boot, just tells me the OC fails

it boots if I set the voltage up to 1.625 though, but I have to lax the timings a lot to get it to boot windows at all

I'm pretty sure that aint right

Last edited by stlouis1; July 9, 2013 at 07:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 07:52 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

That voltage is too high to just hit 1866MHz. You should RMA to Corsair. However, I do want to note that the A4-5300 does NOT have official 1866MHz support.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 12:35 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,282
Default

Not trying to defend Corsair...but I have lost count of the number of builds I have used their LP 'blues' in. Damn stable kit. Think I had one bad stick in the entire lot.... Of course I dont build many A4 builds so maybe that is just lack of experience with this combo! Honestly though I would suspect something else...but cover all bases and test the ram. Do you have any known good ram to make sure its not the CPU or bad ram slot?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2013, 07:12 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Not trying to defend Corsair...but I have lost count of the number of builds I have used their LP 'blues' in. Damn stable kit. Think I had one bad stick in the entire lot.... Of course I dont build many A4 builds so maybe that is just lack of experience with this combo! Honestly though I would suspect something else...but cover all bases and test the ram. Do you have any known good ram to make sure its not the CPU or bad ram slot?
I have other known working ram, but none that will fit in that system due to it's low profile which is just annoying

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
That voltage is too high to just hit 1866MHz. You should RMA to Corsair. However, I do want to note that the A4-5300 does NOT have official 1866MHz support.
and that's why I thought nothing of it at first, but now with the A10-6800K which is rated to handle memory at that speed, its a different story

I ended up testing each stick individually, and one of them did eventually start kicking out errors. I've gone back to the store and swapped it. all is well

one thing I noticed, when I took that stick out, the fan that wasn't working.....started working....?? wtf

it's working though, played nsf shift for a few hours earlier. I've downclocked the cpu to max out at 3.2ghz to keep the power usage and temps down, but I think tomorrow i'll try oc'ing the GPU and see what if it helps me at all for whatever few titles I'll actually play on this system
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Vengeance K95 review neo678123 Member Reviews 0 July 5, 2013 07:41 AM
[FS] Corsair Vengeance 16GB 4X4GB Eldonko Buy/Sell & Trade 5 April 4, 2012 07:21 PM
Logitech G19 or Corsair Vengeance K60 Skozaa Peripherals 1 December 9, 2011 01:50 AM
Corsair Vengeance 1300 Retro. Audio 2 October 4, 2011 10:20 AM
Anyone getting reviewed speeds on Corsair Vengeance? BlueByte RAM 0 February 8, 2011 06:04 AM