Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 02:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Question Increasing FPS [Ram Bottleneck ? ]

Hello everyone

I got an 2x2 Ram DDR3
Graphic Card : Asus GeForce GTX 660 Ti DirectCU II OC 2GB DDR5 192-bit
Processor : intel Core i7-3770 ( 3.40GHz,~ 3.9GHz )
And i am not yet satisfied by the fps which i get in games.
My question for you is: If i upgrade my ram from 4gb to -> 6gb or 8gb will it help my pc to increase some fps ?
Thanks for you attention!

EDIT:I record my gameplays that's why i want more fps
Because i got an youtube channel where i do gameplays!

And also i am wondering if my ram may bottleneck the cpu or gpu

I wait for some good answers ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 03:46 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,953

My System Specs

Default

What resolution do you game at?

Open task manager and check what you ram usage is in game.

That said its definitely not going to hurt to go to 8gb ram... I consider it the norm now for everything except a basic internet box.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 09:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,544

My System Specs

Default

Having 8 GB of RAM helps even the Windows Experience Index, for 8GB is 7.5 with DDR 1333 while for 4 GB is only 5.9. So yes it might improve your FPS but not by a major way, probably 10%. You would probably want to change the video card for a more consistent boost, you are using a mid-level graphics card first of all.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 11:58 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Can you be more specific when you say you're not satisfied? What games, settings and FPS are you getting?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 12:58 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Yes.

You are going to be bottlenecked by your 4 gig of memory running modern game and windows 7.

I am not running any serious applications right now and i'm @ 4.37 / 8 gig usage.


For example, my good friend upgraded to 8 gig from 4 and now he can play bf3.


We're not talking about just an average fps increase, when your memory bottlenecks you, you make a VM file so your HDD becomes your memory, and it's slower by an order of magnitude (or 2, i dont' wanna do the calc!).

The memory bottlenecks both your gpu and your cpu here's how:

Windows detects low memory -> makes paging file
CPU now uses your hard drive like it's just uber slow memory from 1990
GPU is like "COMON CPU GIVE ME INSTRUCTIONS! I'M WAITING HERE!" and you'll get stall outs. That is you'll have 0 fps periodically for some games (you'll see it as a stutter).

Just doit. 50 bucks for more memory.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 02:39 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Uhmm....for example i want to play some bully scholarship edition to record

On max resolution 1920 x 1080

It lags ...there are around 15-20 fps

I mean seriously that game bully,its old and i think i should be able to play it on max settings or at least resolution.

I just gave an example cause i don't want to list here a lot of games

I also want to say that i can run Tomb Raider with max resolution 1920 x 1080 on and settings on high with 50-60 fps

On tomb raider it goes good but on an old game like bully it goes shitty

I will upgrade to 8gb,i just wanted to be sure if it bottlenecks or not

Thanks for help,i really appreciate it ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2013, 04:14 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,501

My System Specs

Default

Definitely go with 8GB, considering you can pick up a kit for super cheap. Having said that, you won't see an FPS increase in most games, unless you constantly have your ram flushed with applications. Some games you might notice a drop in stuttering, if you have stuttering problems. Just bring up Task Manager and see what kind of loads you're running.

In the case of Bully specifically, a lack of ram is not the cause of your performance issues. Bully has major performance glitches. Firstly, you can get framerate drops with too much memory being used. Also, Bully uses a 30FPS framerate cap. Click the links for fixes. For the framerate cap fix, make sure you make a backup of your .exe file. You'll need to revert to the original during certain missions that get messed up using the fix.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

Last edited by YukonTrooper; April 7, 2013 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2013, 01:47 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,823

My System Specs

Default

bump to 8gb surely. As a general rule you will be able to tell before anyone else if you need more... just watch your ram usage where you find the performance lacking.


And ignore the windows experience index.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2013, 04:09 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Default

Okay thank you all for your help

I got my decision,i will upgrade to 8gb

Thank you very much,i am really glad that i posted here on this forum ^_^

EDIT:Yukon,Thank you very much for the information provided ^_^

Last edited by raffaelito; April 8, 2013 at 04:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2013, 05:10 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,606
Default

While adding the extra ram will help for overall system performance don't expect massive gains while playing games. We still live in an era where most applications still only use 2gb of possible memory due to being a 32bit app. Some games are LAA which can use more but its not that common.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible MOBO prices increasing soon????? [TechReport] Delavan Rumor Mill 16 February 15, 2011 10:22 AM
Increase Windows 7 font size without increasing DPI? 300 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 November 5, 2009 12:30 PM
Hard Drive weight increasing Shadowmeph Off Topic 14 September 9, 2009 04:25 PM
Cogeco increasing speeds? Jonwall Networking 10 August 4, 2009 10:10 AM
increasing the voltage on a hd 4890 bc_tileguy Video Cards 8 June 25, 2009 06:03 AM