Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 05:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default Ram Latency and amount questions.

Okay, I found that the people in this forum seem to know what they were talking about.
I took the time to write an organized post about my question. I proceeded to press post and be alerted that I have been logged out. So this is the SECOND time I've had to write this.

Okay, So I'm building a new Workstation/Gaming rig, Main specs:

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
i7-3770k
GTX 680 2GB

I'll be doing a LOT of heavy gaming/multitasking.
A ton of heavy video editing/rendering in 1080p (And occasionally higher than 1080p)
Constant heavy multitasking.

What difference does CAS Latency make for this (Tight C9 vs Loose C9 vs tight C10)?
And I should be able to run 32GB of 1600Mhz C9 (9-9-9-24) RAM on this Motherboard/CPU, Right? (I don't want to buy 32GB of RAM that I can't use to full potential.)

I've been looking at Corsair RAM (They're the only brand I really trust for RAM, But I am open to recommendations)

Dominator Platinum 32GB 4x8GB (1600Mhz, 9-9-9-24 CAS)
Dominator Platinum 16GB 4x4GB (1866Mhz, 9-10-9-27 CAS)
Dominator 32GB 4x8GB (1600Mhz, 10-10-10-27 CAS)
Vengeance 32GB 4x8GB (1600Mhz, 9-9-9-24 CAS, And then the same model but 10-10-10-27 CAS)
--Edit As you might realize I'm trying to stick with a white/black/silver/gold colour theme, So if possible that's the colour scheme of RAM I would like to get--

I want to get 32GB if possible, I just want to make sure I'll be able to use the kit to it's full potential.

Thanks for any help and insight, and thanks for any RAM kit suggestions!
As I said I'm open to any 32GB kit as long as it's definitely good.

Sorry for being a bit disorganized, this is the second time I've had to write this post, as I've said.

Last edited by TheWildRose; January 1, 2013 at 06:01 PM. Reason: Forgot a detail.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:10 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I would aim for a 2x8GB dual channel kit DDR3-1600 with 9-9-9-24 timings. Get 2 of the same kits for a total of 32GB RAM if you think you need the extra capacity. Corsair, GsKill, Kingston, are all good brands. The thing with ram is that you won't really notice any difference between a 1600 kit vs 1866 for games or any general use. Maybe for a Ram disk, but I don't think it would matter. Just get a good priced kit from a reputable brand.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:16 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

speed of ram doesn't play as much of a role in systems today unlike yesteryear systems.

just get the cheapest and amount you want and be done with it
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dandelioneater View Post
I would aim for a 2x8GB dual channel kit DDR3-1600 with 9-9-9-24 timings. Get 2 of the same kits for a total of 32GB RAM if you think you need the extra capacity. Corsair, GsKill, Kingston, are all good brands. The thing with ram is that you won't really notice any difference between a 1600 kit vs 1866 for games or any general use. Maybe for a Ram disk, but I don't think it would matter. Just get a good priced kit from a reputable brand.
Then wouldn't it be easier to just get a 32GB kit to start with?
Where I'm buying it's cheaper too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
speed of ram doesn't play as much of a role in systems today unlike yesteryear systems.

just get the cheapest and amount you want and be done with it
Alright, thanks for the quick reply, really wasn't expecting that!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:26 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWildRose View Post
Then wouldn't it be easier to just get a 32GB kit to start with?
Where I'm buying it's cheaper too.
Yeah whichever is cheaper. dual channel vs quad channel doesn't matter. Get whatever combination is the best value.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,844

My System Specs

Default

I can't give any first hand experience on your question, but generally speaking gskill ram seems to be the go to for most people at this point. From reviews I have read memory frequency improves performance in applications like ones you use by marginal single digit % increases above 1600mhz. And timings generally had an even smaller impact. There was decent gains going up to 1600mhz though.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2013, 06:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 34

My System Specs

Default

Thanks everyone for the answers, I'll be going with the 32GB 10-10-10-27 kit.
It's a cheaper option and it's 32GB. So thanks everyone.
I'll definitely recommend this forum to people I know.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amount of posts per thread dlf Suggestions & Feedback 8 April 19, 2012 09:54 AM
What amount should I spend on a MOBO? Yeno CPU's and Motherboards 12 June 23, 2011 06:37 PM
Amount of posts per page geokilla Suggestions & Feedback 7 January 3, 2011 09:36 AM
Amount of thermal paste - help Chris Air Cooling 6 June 17, 2009 05:18 PM
What are the dangers of tweaking latency? +extra questions! mrlie3 RAM 5 December 4, 2007 06:59 PM