Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 07:25 PM
shortestraw's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: british columbia
Posts: 26
Default maximus formula

whats the best memory for the maximus? i need something that play's nice and oc's at the same time, im looking at just 2gb kits for now(still running xp) ive looked at the mushkin xp pc2-9200,reapers,flex9600,and dominators. any users with the maximus and what sticks r you running?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2008, 07:51 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

I run mushkin pc2 6400 em series.....I run 2x 1gb sticks and 2x 512Mb sticks (3Gb) for win XP.

But then I'm not OC'ing this rig.

I have a set of muskin pc2 extreme redline xp2 8000 that works nicely too....

------

Here's the thing : The x38 chipset is technically only spec'd to run 800 Mhz ram (pc2 6400)....Now this isnt to say it won't run higher , but it's considered an OC'd state at 801.Mhz.......stability not garanteed.

That being said , I'd go with the sticks you think will look best in yer rig.Any one of the ones you have suggested should work.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2008, 12:41 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Unless you know you're going to need the extra memory headroom, or you're hardcore into the memory benchmarks, I wouldn't bother with anything PC2-9000 or higher. There still tends to be heavy price premium for them, and the stuff between PC2-8000 to 8500 will still give you enough headroom for 99% of any OC-ing you might want to do.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2008, 05:06 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

I totally agree....Unless yer gonna go OC crazy , pc2 9200 is overkill....Find some nice 8000-8500...

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 06:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 17
Default

I would go with:

Mushkin Redlines PC-8000
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=MUSHKIN

or

Corsair Dominators PC-8500
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...acture=CORSAIR

Both sets are awesome RAM and sell out quickly. I see NCIX has the Redlines in stock right now but the Dominators look to be backordered again. I just got my Dominators yesterday after waiting 3 weeks for NCIX to get them in. Also, if you pick up the Redlines, Mushkin Greg (Mushkin rep) who is on the NCIX forums daily can help you out with all your timings.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 08:17 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alberta
Posts: 261

My System Specs

Default

My 2 cents on faster RAM,

Whatever your ram choice is...If you are goinfg to run XP pro / SP1 or SP2 any ram greater that PC6400 had not been accepted/tested by microsoft at the time the OS was made, that means some of (MOST) faster ram is not in the Compatibilty catalog on the install disk.

A stick or 2 of PC-6400 for the install will save you days of frustration, if you are going XP. Install OS, Install Motherboard drivers then swap out your ram to the faster stuff.

The install errors included paged in non paged area, misc files not copied, all good until first reboot then HD error, No video, incompatible hard drive format ect.

4 different install disks, 3 CD-Rom Drives, 3 different video cards and still no joy until PC-6400 ram used for install.
__________________
Code:
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2008, 07:09 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,509
Default

Good point !

I have heard that before......use QVL ram for install , then switch to high performance ram.

That's probably a good procedure to follow.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2008, 08:56 AM
shortestraw's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: british columbia
Posts: 26
Default

check out these mushkins hp6400 i picked up from ncix a while back when they were on saleCPU-Z Validator 2.1
i have to tighten the timings up and push the ram a little higher but not bad so far for $40 ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes