Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 12:04 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default AMD RAM...

So, almost exactly a year ago, AMD decided in their infinite wisdom to get into the RAM business... although they are only really starting to sell their memory recently. Why, you may ask, would one want AMD RAM? Answer: absolutely no reason at all. This is a partnership with Patriot and VisionTek so no great selling point there. They are just another recent player in the already overcrowded memory business. You have to wonder at the intelligence (or lack thereof) of the leaders of AMD to decide to get into the business when margins are at an all-time low and competition never greater... yup, sounds like a winning strategy to me. But then again, AMD has a rich history of great decisions
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 12:13 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeaverBender View Post
Why, you may ask, would one want AMD RAM? :
I will say Why not ? I own their CPU, GPU , Chipset, why not RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 12:15 PM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

touché
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 12:40 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

I think it was just marketed wrong. They first introduced the horribly named Black Edition Memory Profiles (unfortunately, with the acronym BEMP) alongside the initial batches of Radeon memory. It was a failure.

Now, they've moved to a much more reasonable approach by including "AMP" AMD Memory Profiles into certain memory kits. Much like XMP, it does tend to help performance on supporting systems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 12:41 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,332
Default

AMD RamDisk. Free version allows for (up to) a 6GB 'disk' with AMD branded Ram....and only 4GB with non AMD ram.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 01:11 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

In theory, it might be possible that the SPD settings for secondary settings are optimized for AMD chipsets / mem controllers / procs. In practice, I don't believe that's the case.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 02:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12

My System Specs

Default

I don't think it really matters. It's just branded RAM, Intel did it too.
Intel even made a watercooler (which I couldn`t find a link for).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2012, 12:13 PM
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 3

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blade of grass View Post
I don't think it really matters. It's just branded RAM, Intel did it too.
Intel even made a watercooler (which I couldn`t find a link for).
Not quite the same here. Intel had backed the linked RAM, AMD had Patriot and Visiontek OEM some RAM for them and then they sold it as their own product. IIRC that "Intel" RAM was released right around the Intel Extreme Masters event in which they used it as a sort of promotional type thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2012, 03:38 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 305
Default

reminds me of "Nvidia SLI Certified" mem anyone remember those 2000mhz kits from ocz. except when you stuck them in a 790i board they wouldn't work at rated speeds because the nvidia chipset couldn't handle the mhz.

Ya i RMA'd a set of those for exchange on a tripple kit of 1600mhz ocz. now i wish id have kept them for current ivy stuff and benching 9-9-9-28 1.8v most of those ram sticks would handle 2.1-2.2 ish v.

I should add my 2 cents tho on the AMD mem . if it helps with memory profiles on their amd boards i say all the power too them. there is nothing worse than haveing a great set of sticks and your board wont set the sub/tertiary timings on its own. and there is very little info out there on what to set anything in those respects.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2012, 05:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,905

My System Specs

Default

While there is nothing that forces me to say "buy amd ram", there is also no reason to avoid it. Just more memory in a crowded market that benefits the consumer....I say the more the merrier.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes