Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 04:47 AM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default Ram Cache and Ram Disk, Real world difference?

Obviously in benchmarks and stuff there seems to be a great boost in performance but what is the real world performance be like? If you already have two fast ssd's in raid 0 would you notice a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 06:24 AM
Chasingu's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

I use RamDisks for games, and besides the annoyance factor of having to move the game over to the ram disk, then move it back when your done, there is noticeable performance boost, in some games. There are some games I can think of that it really doesn't do much. Remember, a RAMDisk is "an SSD with no Wearing Out and around 100x faster" however it is more volatile.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 06:44 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chasingu View Post
I use RamDisks for games, and besides the annoyance factor of having to move the game over to the ram disk, then move it back when your done, there is noticeable performance boost, in some games. There are some games I can think of that it really doesn't do much. Remember, a RAMDisk is "an SSD with no Wearing Out and around 100x faster" however it is more volatile.
Save yourself the hassle and get something like this: RAMDisk - Software - Server Memory Products & Services - Dataram

It saves an image of your RAMDisk at intervals and shutdown. It then restores the image at startup. Takes a few minutes to boot, but saves the hassle.

@OP I run a RAMDisk for my entire development environment. I'm a web developer and it makes my dev setup almost instantaneous. It really was a night and day difference once I made the switch. Obviously this is pretty specific, but RAMDisks definitely have uses. Often you just have to figure them out for yourself. Other devs that have used my box lose their mind at how responsive it is.

I haven't ever had a RAID 0 with a pair of fast SSD's, so I can't comment on the RAMDisk VS them, but I previously had a 4 drive RAID 0 of 7200's (obviously not SSD's) but it was painfully slow compared to my setup now.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 07:12 AM
BobbyLou's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

Great!

and what about ram caches?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 08:03 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyLou View Post
Great!

and what about ram caches?
I think a ram cache would just be regular system memory as it caches files and data that you are using for quicker access by the cpu.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 10:57 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Van
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

The trick is called cache preload. If you copy everything from disk to ram before you launch the app, then the app runs completely out of ram. It doesn't matter whether you allocate a fixed ramdisk size and copy the files in, or you simply copy the files to /dev/null and let your automatic buffer cache handle it. Either way works and yields the same speed in the end.

In linux, one can preload a directory into buffer cache by issuing a command like

find mydirectory -print0 | xargs -0 cat >/dev/null

There's probably a Windows equivalent command, but I'm not sure what that might be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 11:50 AM
BeaverBender's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 260

My System Specs

Default

fetch
__________________
Creationists make it sound like a ‘theory’ is something you dreamt up after being drunk all night — Isaac Asimov
All thinking men are atheists — Ernest Hemingway
Faith means not wanting to know what is true — Friedrich Nietzsche


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 03:48 PM
Chasingu's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Im cheap, so I use ImDisk, and I made Batch Scripts to automatically transfer the games to and fro. I'm actually going to write a Visual Basic program that will make the disks and archive them, without having to manually run the scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 06:06 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
@OP I run a RAMDisk for my entire development environment. I'm a web developer and it makes my dev setup almost instantaneous. It really was a night and day difference once I made the switch. Obviously this is pretty specific, but RAMDisks definitely have uses. Often you just have to figure them out for yourself. Other devs that have used my box lose their mind at how responsive it is.
you wouldn't happen to use visual studio would you? I do .NET web dev for work, but I do alot of desktop stuff in my spare time as well.

were you using an SSD before?

I'm thinking that since I rarely turn off my system anyways, a RAM drive would be nice, since VS, Office, and browsers are the only things that aren't instant on my M4. Did you ever have any data corruption/crashes related to your RAM drive?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 07:15 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
you wouldn't happen to use visual studio would you? I do .NET web dev for work, but I do alot of desktop stuff in my spare time as well.

were you using an SSD before?

I'm thinking that since I rarely turn off my system anyways, a RAM drive would be nice, since VS, Office, and browsers are the only things that aren't instant on my M4. Did you ever have any data corruption/crashes related to your RAM drive?
I don't use VS, primarily PHP/MySQL/Javascript. Front end development is really nice with my livereload setup as it takes but a half second after every save to see the refreshed page, even with Compass pre-processing SASS and multiple windows refreshing, but the real time savings come when working with heavy databases.

I stated in my original post, no, I wasn't running SSD's before so I couldn't comment on the difference. All I know is my setup is lightning quick with the whole Apache/MySQL/Compass stack on the RAM drive.

If the power goes out between saves of the RAM drive image...yes you will have issues. A battery backup solves that problem though and I have never lost data or had corruption. I also work inside a dropbox folder so everything syncs externally as I work...just in case everything else fails. Hasn't been needed in the couple years I've been running the setup though.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What kind of a real-world performance improvement would a 4gb 670 bring over 2gb 670? peppergomez Video Cards 11 August 6, 2012 06:39 AM
My first SSD: Smart cache or system disk? Valamyr Storage 12 August 17, 2011 06:18 PM
Question regarding real world value of dedicated PhysX card Perineum Video Cards 7 May 10, 2011 06:43 PM
i7 2600k vs i7 950 in real world performance CTA CPU's and Motherboards 13 February 7, 2011 04:24 PM
L2 Cache effects on Real World impruv CPU's and Motherboards 3 March 15, 2010 11:47 AM