Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2012, 01:44 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default Understanding RAM Memory Timing Data

I am trying to understand the different data relating to matching memory modules in a system.
I installed the Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 modules with the following specs:

Memory Speed - DDR3 - 1333 (667MHZ)
Memory Timing - 9-9-9-24 @ 666MHZ

My motherboard is Asus P6X58D-E with Intel i7- 950 CPU.
According to the bios , if my CPU is locked, the maximum memory supported is DDR3-800 or DDR31066

Does this mean that the installed memory will give me problems because of a mismatch of speed ?

I ran CPUID and it shows that my memory is running at 534MHZ with a timing of 8-8-8-20

Again this is different from the advertised timing of the Corsair. Should I be concerned ?

Thanks for your comments.

Memory Speed
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.

Last edited by Malam; October 30, 2012 at 08:38 AM. Reason: Corrected Memory Model name.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2012, 06:20 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,970
Default

WHAT bios version running, the current as of 2012.08.27 is P6X58D-E BIOS 0803

as corsair advertised means that is the max sppeed that ram can run

i see p/n: CNZ8X3M24 comes up not listed at thier site

Note need to know the max voltage for the ram to get the most out of it check the sticker on ram

your set-up is geared to triple channel

some reading material
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 08:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Thanks for your post and for the link. Very helpful. I have the latest bios and I am running with all the memory channels occupied, so triple channel configuration is ok. The tutorial has helped me to understand some of the principles involved. The Corsair Modules are advertised to be faster, but I really don't need the speed. Stability is more important. I have setup the memory to run at 1066 which the CPU supports, I had it at 1600 before. This could have been the reason, my system shuts down sometimes. I left the system running all night and so far no issues. Once again thanks.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 08:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
WHAT bios version running, the current as of 2012.08.27 is P6X58D-E BIOS 0803

as corsair advertised means that is the max sppeed that ram can run

i see p/n: CNZ8X3M24 comes up not listed at thier site

Note need to know the max voltage for the ram to get the most out of it check the sticker on ram

your set-up is geared to triple channel

some reading material
I had the wrong memory type before, just corrected the Corsair to CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 08:53 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,796

My System Specs

Default

If you haven't already, download and run a program called cpu-z. That has information tabs for both current memory settings and the SPD settings which are the manufacturer's recommended settings / voltages hard coded into the chips.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 10:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If you haven't already, download and run a program called cpu-z. That has information tabs for both current memory settings and the SPD settings which are the manufacturer's recommended settings / voltages hard coded into the chips.
Just did. The current memory settings and the SPD are the same, including voltage at 1.5V.
Thanks.
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 02:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malam View Post
I am trying to understand the different data relating to matching memory modules in a system.
I installed the Corsair Vengeance CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 modules with the following specs:

Memory Speed - DDR3 - 1333 (667MHZ)
Memory Timing - 9-9-9-24 @ 666MHZ

My motherboard is Asus P6X58D-E with Intel i7- 950 CPU.
According to the bios , if my CPU is locked, the maximum memory supported is DDR3-800 or DDR31066

Does this mean that the installed memory will give me problems because of a mismatch of speed ?

I ran CPUID and it shows that my memory is running at 534MHZ with a timing of 8-8-8-20

Again this is different from the advertised timing of the Corsair. Should I be concerned ?

Thanks for your comments.

Memory Speed
The 534 that CPUIP shows is half the actual value, so your ram is at ~1066, the timing should not change on its own from stock, did you read that off the tab that says memory, or the 1 thats called SPD?
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 07:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedShackley View Post
The 534 that CPUIP shows is half the actual value, so your ram is at ~1066, the timing should not change on its own from stock, did you read that off the tab that says memory, or the 1 thats called SPD?
After going through some of the reading material in KaptCrunch's post, I gathered enough courage to venture into my bios again. This time, I selected the XMP and 1600MHZ. Both my motherboard and the Memory Modules support XMP. My system is running fine. I also ran the cpu-z suggested in sswilson's post and it confirmed (Memory and SPD) the DRAM Frequency as 800MHZ, XMP-1600 Timing - 9-9-9-24.
I left everything at the default settings after selecting the XMP. The Voltage is still 1.5 and my temperatures are pretty good (CPUis running 30 C @idle).
__________________
ASUS P6X58D-E; INTEL i7 950 ; NOCTUA NH-U12P; PNYGeForce GTX 460 OCX ; LIAN-LI PC-V1020 CASE; SEASONIC PLATINUM 860; WINDOWS 8 PRO 64-BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 01:44 PM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

I had a X58 and a i7-920 clocked at 4.2gigs and as for as speed and memory timings I saw maybe 1 to 2% going from 800mhz at 6-6-18 1.5v ali the way to 1600mhz at 7-7-21 at 1.62v.On a X58 motherboard and a i7-920 or a i7-950 memory speed and timeing made very little difference in my case except I could turn down the voltage and it ran a little cooler
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 02:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Here is a great write up on exactly what you are talking about: Check it out
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Launches AirFlow Pro Memory Parametric Data Display for Dominator DIMMs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 7 June 1, 2010 05:18 PM
Quetion regarding memory overclock/data corruption sheema Storage 2 November 27, 2009 12:30 AM
A-DATA Unviels XPG Plus DDR3-2200+ Memory Claimed as Fastest In the Industry FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 4 August 2, 2009 05:23 AM
A-Data Announces New 4GB Single Module DDR3 Memory In All Lines FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 July 28, 2009 02:12 PM
[FS] A-data Vitesta DDR2 800 CL4 memory 4GB nakano2k1 Buy/Sell & Trade 5 February 21, 2009 10:43 AM