Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2012, 01:41 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,082

My System Specs

Default

I run 4gb of ddr2 in my rig without issues in bf3. My suggestion would be ssd. I wouldn't invest more in ddr2.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2012, 09:02 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Thanks bond. I think this may be the info I was fishing for. What resolution and settings do you normally play at?

Edit: I was also tossing around the idea that BF3 may have a memory leak.

Edit: #2: I find there is no bottleneck in my system with regards to BF3 performance. I noted the GPU goes anywhere from ~70%-99% usage while playing, so I know the GPU is being fed well. Measured with MSI's afterburner. I would say my performance experience is quite similar to THG's results noted here.

Here is why my system does so well. Apparently this game is much more GPU limited than CPU limited.

Last edited by IRQ Conflict; October 29, 2012 at 09:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 04:30 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRQ Conflict View Post
Thanks bond. I think this may be the info I was fishing for. What resolution and settings do you normally play at?

Edit: I was also tossing around the idea that BF3 may have a memory leak.

Edit: #2: I find there is no bottleneck in my system with regards to BF3 performance. I noted the GPU goes anywhere from ~70%-99% usage while playing, so I know the GPU is being fed well. Measured with MSI's afterburner. I would say my performance experience is quite similar to THG's results noted here.

Here is why my system does so well. Apparently this game is much more GPU limited than CPU limited.
I also play at 1680x1050. You have a very different setup than me, but I was having random lag spikes and turning hbao/ ssao of in bf3 solved it for me. Worth a shot.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 09:27 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I haven't had too much time to mess with things. But I did take note of one user who fixed his similar issue by disabling his on board audio. I use the HDMI off the card to the TV now so I disabled the on board Asus crap. Hopefully this will help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes