Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 11:35 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default What's good for i5-2500k RAM these days

Where are we at with ram lately, for an i5-2500k

What speed and timings are good now with ^^, If i was to upgrade would I get 4GB again just for games?


Just in case my g skill eco 1600 7-8-7-24-40 2T fail, they are 1.35V and I've been running them a 6-8-6-20-24-1T @1.59-1.6V without a hitch since I got them 1y10m ago, but today running P95 they have been acting up according to the BSOD codes
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p

Last edited by TedShackley; September 24, 2012 at 11:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 04:30 PM
ntropic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 2

My System Specs

Default

Make some love with Samsung's DDR3L low voltage, low profile memory. My 4x4GB is doing 1866 CL9 at 1.4v. I'm going to push for CL8 if I can.
__________________
Honk if you love BattleMechs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 05:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,915

My System Specs

Default

As far as I have ever read 2nd gen i3/5/7 don't really see much to any benefit above 1600mhz for ram. I would go for that unless you find a good deal on something faster.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 07:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 427

My System Specs

Default

I set them back to stock, but after another ram BSOD in P95 I have them at 1.4V, but at least now I'm into ~7h30m of 2800MB blend
__________________
i7 2700k - 7950 3GB crossfire - 4GB 1866 CL8 - 1600p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 07:52 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I don't think that you'll see a noticeable performance improvement with running tighter timings, and as soon as you deviate from stock RAM settings you can potentially enter into the realm of memory instability .

Try 6-8-7-24-1T 1.65V
then if that seems to be stable:
try 6-8-6-24-1T 1.65V.

I don't know how well ECO's can be tweaked. I'm pretty sure that they won't overclock well.

Heck, most 1600MHz RAM kits these days are 9-9-9-24, so at 7-8-7-24 you have a pretty decent set there as is.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2012, 08:29 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ontario
Posts: 115
Default

I vote for the Samsung too..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2012, 09:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 19

My System Specs

Default

Pick up the Samsung sticks, they are 44$ at newegg and they overclock like mad.

Overclocking your ram won't cause instability, you just have to tweak your overclocks and test for instability.

Here's some stable overclock's I've been able to get:

1600mhz my timings were 8-8-8-24-1T with a tRFC of 128 and voltage of 1.410.

1866 my timings were 9-9-9-24-1T with a tRFC of 128 and voltage of 1.410.

2000mhz my timings are 9-10-10-24-1T with a tRFC of 138 and voltage of 1.475.

Now this is in quad channel so if you are running a single kit in dual channel you will be able to get the tRFC way down and probably be able to get tighter timings. All you do is set the ram at the desired overclock, boot into windows and then run prime95 to see if any workers fail. If the workers fail then you have to tweak it by loosening some of the timings or increasing the voltage a bit.

But that 1600mhz @ cas 8 and 1.410v is pretty much guaranteed with these sticks and won't need much tweaking to achive. So you don't need to worry if you don't know to want to overclock them.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Those are the days TedShackley Gaming 1 June 16, 2012 07:32 PM
Core i5 2500K + MSI Z77 Motherboard Good? geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 15, 2012 03:46 AM
Is this good overclocking for i5 2500K? ern88 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 November 6, 2011 07:45 PM
DOS gaming, o the good ol' days.... lowfat Gaming 64 February 9, 2011 12:15 PM
What I did on my days off in 2010 Mnpctech Off Topic 12 December 30, 2010 05:21 PM