Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 17, 2008, 08:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Talking Which would you choose?

Thought I'd say hello first... came across the site a little while back and it's been a great help in building my newest system. Anyways, hi!

Soo I am trying to decide on memory. I've got a Q6600 on an EVGA 750i FTW

I'm going with 8gigs total.. why not? DDR2 is CHEAP haha

Mushkin HP PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 5-4-4-12 - $90.00 each

or

Corsair XMS2 DHX TWIN2X4096-6400C5DHX 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 - 129.99 each

or

G.SKILL F2-6400CL5D-4GBPQ PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL5-5-5-15 - 129.00 each

I'm normally a Corsair "fanboi" for sure.. but I'm not afraid of options - I'm leaning towards the Corsair here but that Mushkin price point can't be beat. NCIX has a $40.00 rebate on Corsair but it'll be gone by the time I order all my parts.

I've got no experience with G.Skill or Mushkin at all... so my question is what would be best if I wanted to OC them a bit (I plan on sitting my Q6600 at around 3.0ghz)?

Thanks!
Old April 17, 2008, 09:03 PM
Hall Of Fame

I'm on my fourth computer using Mushkins, and they're definitely solid, although I'm afraid that I can't offer any personal experience for the other brands. If you're only looking for 3.0 GHz, all those kits offer plenty of headroom to work with.

That aside, do a little searching for other people's experience with the 750i chipset and 8GB combos. Some boards will give you grief for filling all four memory slots, even before you start overclocking. Additionally, the average person will have trouble using 4GB, let alone 8 GB of memory. Even if it's cheap, might not be worth the bother.
Old April 17, 2008, 09:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs