Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 03:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Question Dual, tripple, quad - What does it actually mean?

Ok. I've been reading around forums trying to find out what the deal with dual, tripple and quad channel memory is, and I would simply like to get a yes or no if I understand this correctly:

All DDR3 ram sticks are the same, and what determines if it you have dual, tripple or quad channel memory, is the memory controller on the motherboard. Considering this, you can use any DDR3 memory stick for quad channel memory, as long as you have 4 identical ones. Say i.e. you have two sets of "dual channel memory sticks", these would work in a quad channel setup (as long as everything is within the borders of what the motherboard can do).

Is this right, or am I totaly off target?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 04:12 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 469

My System Specs

Default

Yup your right...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 10:13 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

Yes. You're the first person I've seen ask the question that had it right. I've explained it a few times over the last couple of years.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2012, 10:22 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,726

My System Specs

Default

The only caveat that I'd add is that (IMO) adding memory of the same make/model at a later date won't always ensure fully compatible memory. Mem manufacturers have a habit of changing their chips without changing the SKU as long as the main settings remain the same (i.e. 9-9-9-24) which sometimes can result in large differences for the secondary settings that most folks don't normally see or mess with.

With that in mind, I personally buy my sets all together in the hopes that I get the same lot (and thus the exact same chips).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 07:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks for all the help guys! :)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2012, 02:29 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The only caveat that I'd add is that (IMO) adding memory of the same make/model at a later date won't always ensure fully compatible memory. Mem manufacturers have a habit of changing their chips without changing the SKU as long as the main settings remain the same (i.e. 9-9-9-24) which sometimes can result in large differences for the secondary settings that most folks don't normally see or mess with.

With that in mind, I personally buy my sets all together in the hopes that I get the same lot (and thus the exact same chips).
Yeah so True when they change the Chips you can get some wierd stuff. Thats why I buy it in Kits so I can be sure I get stuff that will play nice together.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 07:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 71
Default

I don't believe this is partially true anymore. I do believe there is a difference in quad vs dual channel memory in the sense that manufactures who are making quad channel motherboards, do not test dual channel kits in their boards.

I recently purchased a P9X79 Pro quad channel board, it has 8 DIMs on it. I am using Corsair 16gb (4x4gb) 1600 dual channel kit for ram. The boards manual said to place 2 chips on each side of the board ( each side of board has 4 DIM slots ). So I do this, memory crashes the system and windows only picks up 3/4 chips of ram. RMA'd the board, same thing. Bought new RAM same thing. Called Asus tech they said they don't test dual channel kits and when you do the config the manual tells you the memory trys to run in quad mode. This doesn't work well with all configs, their solution was to put all chips in the same side then the board would run in dual mode. No issues after that.

Hope this helps anyone having issues with ram in the new X79 boards. BTW: tried a friends quad channel kit, worked perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2012, 11:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,582
Default

Tested or not, the channels are all accessed at the same time (The concept of dual/tri/quad channel itself) thus increasing DAT SPEED. The reason you probably had issues is that dual channel memory's timings (particularly secondaries) can be tighter by default (SPD), which of course, crashes the system. Just can't handle those tighter timings. What's more odd about that explanation is that windows only picked up three sticks out of four.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new dual quad build. kyle_L New Builds 6 March 30, 2010 11:48 PM
Dual Quad Upgrade DaleF Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 26 August 24, 2009 01:53 AM
Another dual-Quad build napier Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 13 July 14, 2009 05:50 PM
Dual or Quad? CactusJoe New Builds 11 July 2, 2009 07:43 PM
Dual or Quad?? BALISTX CPU's and Motherboards 4 November 22, 2007 01:36 AM