Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default 8gb sticks in X58 boards

I was wondering if x58 boards support 8gb sticks.

More specifically the asus sabertooth x58.

I want to get 3 8gb sticks to replace my 6 sticks of 4gbs because I have been getting random restarts and memory errors.

I've look around online and I haven't found anything confirming or denying whether or not the board supports it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpamir View Post
I was wondering if x58 boards support 8gb sticks.

More specifically the asus sabertooth x58.

I want to get 3 8gb sticks to replace my 6 sticks of 4gbs because I have been getting random restarts and memory errors.

I've look around online and I haven't found anything confirming or denying whether or not the board supports it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
3 x 8 = 24


are you running a os aside from home premium to support that?

also sounds like not enough voltage for the 6 sticks on the x58 to cause you those issues
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
6 x DIMM, Max. 24GB, DDR3 1866/1800/1600/1333/1066 Hz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory
Triple Channel Memory Architecture
Supports Intel® Extreme Memory Profile (XMP)
* Hyper DIMM support is subject to the physical characteristics of individual CPUs.
* Refer to www.asus.com or user manual for the Memory QVL (Qualified Vendors Lists).
Based on this (from their website) and the fact that the largest size on the QVL is 4G I suspect the answer is no, but unless somebody here specifically has the asus board + 8G sticks the only place you're going to find out for sure would be the ASUS website. (Quick check of the bios updates also doesn't suggest an update to allow for 8G sticks).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Yeah I know 3x8 = 24.

I am running windows 7 ultimate.

I am also running the sticks at their default settings, I assume they are supposed to work without any fuss at said default settings.

But regardless..... the question stands, can I run 8 gb sticks in my x58 board? I haven't found an answer anywhere online despite searching.

EDIT----

Thanks sswilson

I checked out the Asus website and it said a Max of 24gb, i was holding out hope that that was regardless of the capacity of ram sticks used.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 02:27 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,529

My System Specs

Default

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Forum-

would be the place to look for a definitive answer, but to second enaberif's suggestion... many motherboards required manual tweaking of memory voltages and/or NB voltages when filling all memory slots.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 04:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpamir View Post
Yeah I know 3x8 = 24.

I am running windows 7 ultimate.

I am also running the sticks at their default settings, I assume they are supposed to work without any fuss at said default settings.

But regardless..... the question stands, can I run 8 gb sticks in my x58 board? I haven't found an answer anywhere online despite searching.

EDIT----

Thanks sswilson

I checked out the Asus website and it said a Max of 24gb, i was holding out hope that that was regardless of the capacity of ram sticks used.
More sticks of ram requires more voltage on the northbridge or memory controller usually.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2012, 04:50 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Although I don't know about the sabertooth (I have one as well, and im curious to see if they can support 8GB DIMMs are well so i can go 48GB for VMware) But i know the gigabyte G1 series motherboards on the X58 chipset can accept 48GB at 6x8GB DIMMs.
Patriot 48GB DDR3 Memory in Gigabyte G1.Assassin Motherboard Linus Tech Tips - YouTube
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 12:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Well I was getting more crashes with the 6 x 4gb config and decided to test the waters with 8gb dimms and it works so far at least.

Gonna see how it does with some testing but so far it is showing 24gb at POST and in windows.

I bought a 32gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 kit in case anyone else feels like they want to give it a shot.

Corsair Vengeance Black 32GB 4X8GB DDR3-1600 CL10-10-10-27 1.5V Quad Channel Memory Kit - Corsair - CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 01:05 PM
Linus's Avatar  
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 716
Default

Patriot 48GB DDR3 Memory Weekend Stability Test Results Linus Tech Tips - YouTube

It's doable on some boards even if they don't say so.
__________________
Please note: I am not here to provide official NCIX support on these forums.

For faster (and official) NCIX service please contact our customer care team at www.NCIX.com (Canada) or www.NCIXUS.com (USA)

Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 02:54 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpamir View Post
Well I was getting more crashes with the 6 x 4gb config and decided to test the waters with 8gb dimms and it works so far at least.

Gonna see how it does with some testing but so far it is showing 24gb at POST and in windows.

I bought a 32gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 kit in case anyone else feels like they want to give it a shot.

Corsair Vengeance Black 32GB 4X8GB DDR3-1600 CL10-10-10-27 1.5V Quad Channel Memory Kit - Corsair - CMZ32GX3M4X1600C10
Jesus that's expensive, but good to know since i was planning on getting an 8gb stick to try in my sabertooth.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4GB sticks of RAM for SNB zoob RAM 3 March 31, 2011 12:01 PM
[WTB] DDR3 ram, 1gb sticks (again lol) Artel Buy/Sell & Trade 13 July 26, 2010 09:58 PM
8500 sticks? 3.0charlie RAM 15 February 3, 2008 10:48 AM
My new sticks! Prof. Dr. Silver RAM 22 January 8, 2008 05:34 PM
Which of these sticks of ram should I buy? Song RAM 2 September 1, 2007 09:53 PM