Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2012, 04:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 21
Default

Yeah it was a lot, that was the only 32gb kit available at the Mississauga location when I went in today and I wasn't willing to wait.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2012, 02:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

you need to set IOH and qpi voltages a bit higher or ....BSOD land

IOH 1.2V-1.26V
QPI VTT 1.38-1.46V
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2012, 11:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 180
Default

my asrock x58 extreme is running my 6x4gb ram at ddr3 1600 at 9-9-9-24 stable, there is no reason that yours can't. Bump the memory voltage or the MCH voltage and see.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2013, 02:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 6
Default ASUS Sabertooth x58 Unofficially supports 32GB RAM

I recently had the same question as I wanted to upgrade from 16GB to 32GB of RAM. I had 4 x 4GB sticks with both Windows and Mac (Hackintosh) in a dual-boot config. I installed the sticks in the following order:

Slot 1 = 4GB, Slot 2 = 4GB, Slot 3 = 4GB, Slot 4 = 4GB, Slot 5 = 8GB, Slot 6 = 8GB

Although both OS's booted, OS X advised me the following configuration was more optimal:

Slot 1 = 4GB, Slot 2 = 4GB, Slot 3 = 4GB, Slot 4 = 8GB, Slot 5 = 4GB, Slot 6 = 8GB

Although all of the documentation says it only supports 6 x 4GB (max 24GB), I have 32GB installed and working fine. Note that I have RAM with all the same brand, latency, and voltage (G.SKILL SNIPER DDR3-1600, 9-9-9-24).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4GB sticks of RAM for SNB zoob RAM 3 March 31, 2011 01:01 PM
[WTB] DDR3 ram, 1gb sticks (again lol) Artel Buy/Sell & Trade 13 July 26, 2010 10:58 PM
8500 sticks? 3.0charlie RAM 15 February 3, 2008 11:48 AM
My new sticks! Prof. Dr. Silver RAM 22 January 8, 2008 06:34 PM
Which of these sticks of ram should I buy? Song RAM 2 September 1, 2007 10:53 PM