Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 09:02 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default Ram for Asus Rampage IV Formula

Hello,

I was looking at the manual of my Rampage IV Formula and it listed a couple of verified ram types but I didn't like any of them and want to put this in:

Corsair Dominator GT 16GB 2133MHz

Anyone see any compatibility issues in doing so?

Thanks,
Chomie.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2012, 09:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Should be fine. If you want to save $100 here's what I have in my Extreme: Corsair Vengeance 16GB PC3-14900 DDR3 Quad Channel Kit (4 x 4GB) at Memory Express
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 08:26 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

99% sure it will work fine.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 12:58 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 643

My System Specs

Default

I don't run non QVL in my systems. Too many bad experiences with memory that was functional (24h memtest passed) yet blue screened and turned off by itself.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

I like your suggestion SugarJ I was thinking about it and I think it'll look better than the Dominator does... how close does the red match?? Plus I can pick it up from Memory Express without waiting for shipping and save $100 all at the same time... Great advice!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2012, 01:21 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

I'll post a pic tonight. I think it looks good.

Edit: Actually, Eldonko takes better pictures than I do. Here's a shot of that ram in his test bed.
ASUS X79 Rampage IV Extreme Socket 2011 Motherboard Review
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus X79 Rampage IV Formula vs IV Extreme Chomie CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 11, 2012 07:19 PM
[FS] Asus X38 P5E lga775, flashed to Rampage formula Flintblade Buy/Sell & Trade 1 August 7, 2010 10:36 PM
Asus Announces RoG Rampage III Formula Motherboard FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 9 August 7, 2010 05:32 PM
ASUS Rampage Extreme or ASUS Maximus II Formula AmuseMe CPU's and Motherboards 3 July 20, 2009 09:46 AM