Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 07:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8
Default 4 or 8gb

i realize the more memory the merrier your pc runs but is there a difference beyone 8gb in performance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 07:34 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxsucx View Post
i realize the more memory the merrier your pc runs but is there a difference beyone 8gb in performance
If you're doing any type of rendering go with 8gb min. Some rendering programs even crash because there's a lack of memory. Also the price of 8GB is only about $40 and sometimes cheaper so I would just go with 2x4GB modules.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 07:36 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

I find 8GB is or should slowly become the norm due to the price and the fact games are starting to become memory hogs when running.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 08:59 PM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

8GB is about $10 more, so really why not, I use 12GB and have never seen it past 6GB usage unless I was testing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 09:12 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Default

especially with today memory hog browsers (chrome 1.5-2 gigs mem usage )
__________________

i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Custum WC Loop
Asus P6X58D-E
6 Gb Corsair 1333
EVGA 760 GTX
NZXT Phantom
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 09:14 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFallen View Post
especially with today memory hog browsers (chrome 1.5-2 gigs mem usage )
WHAT! I have used chrome since day one, and have never ever seen my RAM usage go up, only time I have had that happen was an older firefox version, kept using more and more RAm slowly until you rebooted, but that was years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2012, 09:23 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adzsask View Post
WHAT! I have used chrome since day one, and have never ever seen my RAM usage go up, only time I have had that happen was an older firefox version, kept using more and more RAm slowly until you rebooted, but that was years ago.
I've had my FF take upwards of 800-900mb lots of times
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes