Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2012, 04:29 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68

My System Specs

Default Kingston or G.Skill

Hello

Need ram, my old ram just not working with my system.

Looking at Kingston KHX1600C9D3T1BK3/12GX or G.Skill F3-12800CL9T-12GBSR2

12gb kits are close in price and not much more than 6gb kits.

Cannot figure out if one is better than the other.

These two have the Kingston in stock are local.

SATA COMPUTER

BCOM

and Newegg Canada - Computer Products, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras, Cellphones and More! has the G.Skill in stock.

What is the better choice?

Gigabyte G1.guerrilla motherboard and 960 i7 cpu using windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 08:10 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

Check the qualified vendor list (QVL) for your motherboard. Make sure that memory you buy is on that list to ensure the least amount of problems. I have had good experiences equally with kingston and gskill.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2012, 08:33 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North York
Posts: 27
Default

A lot of the times it comes down to just the colour scheme you are following in the computer case. I've allways used kingston for reliability even if it was a little slower. Other thing you might wana check is what cooler you are using and the heights of both memory kits.

I've used both companies and never had any issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kingston RMA Hunt Storage 0 February 22, 2012 12:00 PM
2x Kingston SSD (40GB) or G.Skill Falcon 2 (64GB) xXxRithxXx Storage 13 January 5, 2010 12:33 PM
my kingston ssd had arrived :))))) go flames go Storage 0 May 4, 2009 07:15 PM
Kingston HyperX chibi_man RAM 8 January 29, 2008 03:26 PM