Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:11 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default How does this ram overclock?

Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 EPP Dual Channel Memory Kit

so i was wondering for a new rig how this ram is for overclocking it will be used on a
DFI B.I. P35-T2RL LGA775 P35 ATX DDR2 1PCI-E16 2PCI-E1 3PCI SATA2 RAID Sound GBLAN Motherboard and used with a Q6600 CPU

This will be my first build and first time really overclocking and would like to get the CPU to at least 3ghz

all help is appreciated, also if you guys got any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

Don't worry, you probably won't need to OC the RAM much unless you are gonna run a lower multi than the stock 9X. If you use 9X, the RAM will be good for at least 3.6ghz. If you decide to run a higher FSB, then this set should be able to hit ~1000mhz, but make sure you give them enough volts.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:23 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

thanks that actually helps me a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

np...you might also need to up the NB voltage a bit as well.
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:41 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

like crazyazn said, if you have a 9X multi with the Q6600 and 3GHz is your goal, then you definitely don't need anything faster than PC2-6400 or worry about overclocking the memory. you would have a number of options for settings to get you to your goal, here are just a couple...

333*9=3000MHz 1:1=DDR2-666
333*9=3000MHz 4:5=DDR2-833
375*8=3000MHz 1:1=DDR2-750

the 375*8 would be a good setup because you could then go up to 400*8 (CPU willing and i am sure it would be) and you still wouldn't be overclocking that memory running it at 1:1. personally, i wouldn't worry about a good overclocking kit of PC2-6400 because no one can tell you what a single kit of memory is going to be capable of. just spend the extra $25~$30 for a kit of PC2-8000 and then you are guaranteed a kit of memory that can run up to 500FSB 1:1 and opens up a few more options with memory ratios at lower FSB.

a couple decent 2x2GB PC2-8000 kits would be these...
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ture=G%2ESKILL @ $119
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...Z%20Technology @ $115 after rebate

i personally own the OCZ kit and was quite pleased with it. the G.Skills are known to be one of the better 2x2GB kits out there but neither would have to be overclocked in your situation, so they would pretty much be equal. with that said though, the PC2-6400s should be plenty for your needs. HTH
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 06:03 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

but if i went with a DDR2-1000 kit wouldn't i lose out on the tighter timings that i get with the patriot kit?

i still don't fully understand timings and all that
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 06:14 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 115
Default

About timings, the lower the numbers the better (eg. 4-4-4-12 > 5-5-5-15)

Usually, if the RAM is capable of 1000mhz 5-5-5-15, then it should be able to do 4-4-4-12 at 800mhz.

You won't need DDR2-1000 unless you plan on OC'ing with a high FSB and low multi. That being said, having faster RAM definitely gives you more options and headroom when OC'ing.

If you're worried about not having 4-4-4-12 timings at 800mhz, then go for a quality set that is almost guaranteed to do 1000mhz (eg. Mushkin XP2-6400, Crucial Ballistix, etc...)
__________________
Antec NSK 6500 w/ TriCool intake, S-Flex F exhaust
Corsair HX520
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Rev1.0 @ 500FSB
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.5ghz 1.45V
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

Mushkin (996576) 2X1GB HP2-6400 @ 1000mhz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
eVGA 7600GT KO @ 630/880
Seagate 7200.10 320GB

Samsung SH-162

Samsung 205BW

Logitech Media Keyboard
Logitech MX518

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 06:42 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 337
Default

alright thanks guys, very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes