Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 10:12 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default More RAM = Less Stable?

I want to get 2x Corsair 2000Mhz Dominator GT memory kits. But this will add up to 24GB of RAM a pretty massive amount. How likely is it this will cause stability issues?

I've heard about stability issues with filling out all the RAM slots but never really looked into it. I figured that with this RAM being from Corsair and high end it must be close if not the most stable triple channel memory kit you can get, is that a fair assumption?

I don't want to order it to find out it causes random blue screens or even failure to boot.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 11:10 AM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,504
Default

More ram is not less stable.

This only becomes an issue if you are going for really big overclocks.

I'm running 32 Gb with an OC to 4.2 Ghz......rock solid 100% folding stable.

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 11:43 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

one thing is for sure you wont be able to overclock much with 24gb on your board

either get 1 set of high speed n clock them to 2000mhz or 2 cheaper sets n run them 1600-1800mhz

you will need to raise vtt and IOH voltages
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 03:18 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Well I am definitely not planning on having a massive overclock probably looking around 3.8Ghz as my room gets pretty hot when I have my GPU & CPU overclocked. I'm more than happy with 6GB but as 4GB's of that RAM failed recently I need the upgrade. I really just want the fastest RAM I can get..

I wish Corsair had tripple channel 2000Mhz 6x2GB kits I would much prefer that than 6x4GB it's interesting thought because they do have a 6x2GB kit that is 1866Mhz and that is more expensive than the 3x4GB 2000Mhz kit.. All just confusing to me which one would be the very fastest?

Thanks for your help guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2012, 10:36 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 159

My System Specs

Default

6x2gb cheaper mainly because less memory size per stick and lower clock speed, those two factors determine the price differences between ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI 570 OC that is stable?? Anyone? draemn Video Cards 14 April 19, 2011 02:59 PM
I7 930 OC 4.4 Now Stable Chromey Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 29 July 27, 2010 11:33 AM
Stable OC? ADay2Long Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 February 16, 2010 03:59 PM
Stable OC no longer stable? Arinoth Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 December 1, 2009 08:00 PM
4 Ghz stable(?) bkh2 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 20 August 24, 2009 05:20 AM