Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 11:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Default What's Considered Better?

My question is what is considered better;

1600 @ 9-9-9-24

or

1066 @ 7-7-7-20

Or somewhere in between? Or should I just try and achieve 1600 @ 8-8-8-24 with my RAM? Thanks in advance. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 11:42 AM
Adzsask's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: SK
Posts: 831

My System Specs

Default

I have 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 RAM, and it runs @ 8-8-8-20 no problem. It's corsair XMS3 which is notorious for not being able to overclock much if at all so pretty much every 1600MHz kit should run @ stock clocks with a little tighter timings.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 12:32 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,798

My System Specs

Default

1066MHz will start to become a bottleneck. Definitely 1600MHz 9-9-9-24.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 12:53 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

If you get a good set of 1600mhz and are lucky you could probably tighten your timings close to 7-7-7-20
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 02:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 630

My System Specs

Default

delay is related to cas timing and clock speed. I think cas 9 @ 1600 has less latency than cas 7 @ 1066 (check out wikipedia for the formulae as I am lazy!)

Edit: The cas 9 @ 1600 mhz is 1.88 nanoseconds faster than cas 7 @ 1066. Also there is much greater bandwidth @ 1600 (~1.5 of 1033).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2012, 03:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 77
Default

Thanks for the replies guys I guess I have my answer eh? lol Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
this considered a 560 Ti ? Jim Video Cards 3 November 2, 2011 08:16 PM
Has anyone ever considered AMD? Mark New Builds 14 August 16, 2010 07:26 PM
Haggling prices on deals , When is it considered lowballing? WolfBane Off Topic 16 September 14, 2009 07:35 PM
This considered a high CPU temp? Song CPU's and Motherboards 34 October 31, 2007 10:50 AM