Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 10:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default ram

hey i was wondering if i can use difrent brand rams on my crosshair V formula with a phenom II x6 1100T...like for example i already have a 2x kingston ddr3 1600 4G and i found the corsair vengence 1600 8GB kit for a really good price and i was wondering if there will be any kind of issue or maybe they wont work or something. Please help!

thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 11:22 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mavriskia View Post
hey i was wondering if i can use difrent brand rams on my crosshair V formula with a phenom II x6 1100T...like for example i already have a 2x kingston ddr3 1600 4G and i found the corsair vengence 1600 8GB kit for a really good price and i was wondering if there will be any kind of issue or maybe they wont work or something. Please help!

thank you
You can but issues could possibly arise. You want to make sure all the specs between the two match up from speeds to timings. Even then it may not necessarily work well together.

YMMV
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 11:23 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11

My System Specs

Default

ok, thank you very much man!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 02:03 PM
Silent_Avenger's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 472

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You can but issues could possibly arise. You want to make sure all the specs between the two match up from speeds to timings. Even then it may not necessarily work well together.

YMMV
Don't forget voltages too. Easiest thing to do though is just buy all the same memory if you can.
__________________
Main System //// Dedicated Folding PC 1 //// Dedicated Folding PC 2 //// Laptop

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/DarkDivinityPC

I fold for a cure. Team 213366 and 54196.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 03:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 444

My System Specs

Default

yes, speed, voltages, timings, and sometimes as well the dual sided/single sided makes a difference, generally, you are better off just getting more of the same stuff, or for that matetr a whole new kit at the speed/capacity you want, less likely to have "odd" issues this way :)

Also I am assuming you are using dual channel, in which case, unless you "need" 12gb worth of total memory which I highly doubt, I would just use the Venegance kit and be happy with 8gb, 8gb of memory is tons, unless you are doing alot of work, or have open 100 programs all at once :P
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 03:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

as long as you don't get rev:8.16 you will be fine
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2012, 09:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

There should be no problem unless there is any specification mismatch like frequency etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2012, 11:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Just a little bit more detail here would be appropriate WRT mismatched mem sticks......

It's often not the visible settings are are not compatible, but instead are the deeper level "don't touch unless you like to use the cmos reset button" settings that are left on auto. You might have two different sticks that are rated to run 6-8-6 with the same voltage, and on quick examination look like a perfect match, but down deeper in the advanced mem timings might be a setting that doesn't work well on one or the other stick.

Quite frankly... these days, mem is soooooo blessed cheap, you're better off just to sell the set you've got and buy a new matched set if you want to upgrade.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes