Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2012, 10:50 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Default Running quad channel ram on p9 X79 PRO?

Just got a new motherboard the P9 X79 PRO and i was wondering what dimm slots do i use to run quad channel memory? im wanting to buy a 16 gig quad channel kit and have no idea whats a good ram to buy or what dimms to place them in on the board to get quad channel . PLease help and ty for the response .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 12:51 AM
PerryC's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Burton, NB
Posts: 737

My System Specs

Default

Your motherboard manual should be able to tell you which slots to populate on the board. Not having one, I would guess it would be all the slots of the same colour. Any quad channel kit, or any two dual channel kits with the same specs should do fine. Best results you should take a look at the motherboards Qualified Vendor List: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS P9X79 PRO
__________________
The oath to serve your country did not include a contract for normal luxury, and comforts enjoyed within our society. On the contrary it implies hardships, loyalty and devotion to duty, regardless of rank
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2012, 12:58 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

Ideally you want newer model memory with XMP v1.3 to ensure you get the right timings if you set memory profile to XMP, but any ddr3 should work at stock speeds, but the memory profile might not work correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 08:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Default hello

Hay, hope this helps,
it was cut from the "ASUS X79 Motherboards 8-DIMM Memory Installation Guide"
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corsair Announces Quad Channel DRAM Kits Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 November 14, 2011 01:16 PM
G.Skill launches its new RipjawsZ Quad-Channel DDR3 Memory Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 14, 2011 12:41 PM
Solved: Single-channel instead of Dual-Channel WesByNorthWest Troubleshooting 10 September 24, 2011 09:19 AM
Dual Channel 8GB or Triple Channel 6GB? devilwarier9 RAM 6 November 25, 2010 03:31 PM
4GB Dual Channel or 8GB Single Channel Mr. Gruntsworthy RAM 26 October 14, 2008 01:14 PM