Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 04:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default How much ram?

Building a new computer,having it hard to decide on Ram?


My Usage:

Web
Video Editing
Gaming
HD videos
Blu-ray Movies
Virtual OS

Multiple windows of above programs and multi-tasking
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 18, 2012, 04:39 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,122

My System Specs

Default

If you're looking to run multiple VM's, I'd suggest 16GB or more.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2012, 12:15 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
If you're looking to run multiple VM's, I'd suggest 16GB or more.
+1
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 06:26 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

32gb even better..

-joe
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 11:12 AM
neo678123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Holland
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Default

16gb+
i've got 3gb's and IT RUNS LIKE SHIT
so
16gb+
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2012, 11:14 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtktam View Post
32gb even better..

-joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by neo678123 View Post
16gb+
i've got 3gb's and IT RUNS LIKE SHIT
so
16gb+
Unless your running a lot of VMs and I'm talking like 5 or more I wouldn't really worry about more than 16gb. I know with VMs the more ram the better.. but if your running 1 or 2 at a time 16gb is plenty since you could dedicate 4gb to each VM and still have 8gb for your own OS.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes