Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 12:15 PM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default Non-ECC ram?

I've been looking at ram cause I want to finish getting the parts for my file server together and I need non ECC ram, I've looked at best direct and they got two nice 4GB kits priced at 50ish but it doesnt say if there non ECC or not...

So would,
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit
or
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5C] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5C 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit

work on
Buy SuperMicro [MBD-C2SBC-Q-O] Supermicro ATX Mbd Q35 LGA775 8GB 6X SATA HD7.1 5XPCI 1X16
?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 12:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu View Post
I've been looking at ram cause I want to finish getting the parts for my file server together and I need non ECC ram, I've looked at best direct and they got two nice 4GB kits priced at 50ish but it doesnt say if there non ECC or not...

So would,
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit
or
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5C] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5C 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit

work on
Buy SuperMicro [MBD-C2SBC-Q-O] Supermicro ATX Mbd Q35 LGA775 8GB 6X SATA HD7.1 5XPCI 1X16
?
Just get generic kingston or crucial ram.

ECC memory is $$$$
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 12:56 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,949
Default

ECC memory is $$$. is MB dedicated server to warrant ECC. how many cliants?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 7, 2012, 01:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

I'm testing a SM server board with plain Gskill ram, and it booted with 32Gb installed. Simply disable ECC in the BIOS, and you'll be fine.
Actually, both my server folding boards are using plain, run-of-the-mill sticks.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 10:22 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

If were talking a mission critical server i wouldn't run one with out ecc my self and raid 1,im not big on raid 5 sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 02:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

what is the use of this file server? what is your budget?

i been down this road many many times..

-joe
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 12:14 AM
Blu's Avatar
Blu Blu is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Grande Prairie, Alberta
Posts: 394

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
ECC memory is $$$. is MB dedicated server to warrant ECC. how many cliants?
This server is just for home, for my business I use much better setups.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 02:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu View Post
This server is just for home, for my business I use much better setups.
what is the spec for the business units?

I had servers before and I went to a qnap nas box so i don't have to worry about licencing and supporting servers

-joe
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 05:10 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sudbury
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu View Post
I've been looking at ram cause I want to finish getting the parts for my file server together and I need non ECC ram, I've looked at best direct and they got two nice 4GB kits priced at 50ish but it doesnt say if there non ECC or not...

So would,
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit
or
Buy CORSAIR [TWIN2X4096-6400C5C] Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5C 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit

work on
Buy SuperMicro [MBD-C2SBC-Q-O] Supermicro ATX Mbd Q35 LGA775 8GB 6X SATA HD7.1 5XPCI 1X16
?
Normally if ram doesn't say its ECC it isn't.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2012, 05:48 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,522

My System Specs

Default

and the mobo specs clearly say non ECC, so regular desktop ram would do it. You don't need gaming ram with tight timings either, regular ram will do the job. Usually the important part at a file server is the storage subsystem as in a good RAID matrix, not the RAM. ECC RAM is mandated by the mobo specs, like in my case for example, my 2P folder does not take anything else.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes