Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 03:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 44
Default Does My Mobo Support This Ram

ASrock Extreme 3 Gen3 Newegg.com - ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR

Since it's 2133 how would I go about booting up with it. I've never overlocked ram? Is there any risk or life shortening of of PC's when overclocking ram?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2011, 04:28 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

Board Memory Standard support
DDR3 2133(OC) / 1600 / 1333 / 1066 / 800Memory your looking at
SpeedDDR3 2133 (PC3 17000)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 02:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 44
Default

So yes? What of my other questions?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2011, 07:09 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

ASRock > Products > Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 > Memory Support List
Well the particular RAM you're looking at isn't on the memory support list but the 1866 version of it is, so I'm willing to say that the RAM will work.
Don't exceed the voltage that is specified on your RAM and you will be fine when it comes to longevity. It's when people set ridiculous voltages when stuff starts to break.

For booting, just install the RAM, then check CPU-Z to see if the RAM is working at the speed that you want. (sometimes the motherboard can detect the XMP profile and load up automatically)
If the RAM is running at a lower speed (usually DDR1600/800MHz or DDR1333/667MHz), then you have to set the higher speed manually in BIOS.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2012, 11:02 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Agreed only overclock nubs brake things, i haven't in so long i can't even remember anymore.

Though in general i don't really go all in on the memory overclock topic,ill tweak some but i won't bother to go all in just for that last 0.4% at the expense of system stability.
Its just not worth it.

speaking of that i bumped in to a crappy video card the other day with dr2 2ns ram that's running at like 60% of what it could on the card in question and runs hot as hell, like near the thermal limit of what that kind of integrated circuit can take.

Don't know what that's all about but theirs no way id push is faster on the card in question and why dell chose not to put heat sinks on the video card ram when all the rest of the cards like it had ram sinks.
Yay dell.

As for pumping the speed back up to what the ram should be able to take lol forget that.
Its probably reject ram that failed control and then was over-voted just to keep it stable at 60% of max rated speed.

ddr3 266mgz is fast as it is, imho just tweak your timings and call it a day.

Last edited by jumpload; January 10, 2012 at 11:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2012, 12:06 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

spend 20$ more get the cas9 stuff
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] [WTB] 775 or am2+/am3 ddr2 mobo that support latest cpus _dangtx_ Buy/Sell & Trade 13 July 24, 2010 08:25 PM
AM3 mb support sli? bumfloss CPU's and Motherboards 1 May 10, 2009 02:25 PM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 07:24 PM
FS: Retail e6600 ---- DFI 975X Mobo ----- Logitech X-530 ------ LF: Phenom Mobo thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 15 May 1, 2008 10:38 PM
Can shorting a mobo, on the case, ruin that said mobo? mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 25 April 23, 2008 04:00 PM