Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 08:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default Kingston HyperX Genesis + asus p8z68 v pro?

Hi,

I plan to buy an asus motherboard P8Z68 V-PRO and I also plan to buy Kingston Hyper X Genesis RAM to fit into it.
Which I found out that asus mobo only support 1.5v ram and kingston hyper x genesis is running at 1.65v, will it be an issue or the mobo will not support the ram with higher voltage than the spec specified?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 10:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 41
Default

Intel states that max dram voltage for sandybridge is 1.575v but many have been running 1.65v+ through their ram since it launched. Like 1366 you're fine with running ram voltage as long as it's within 0.5V of the VCCIO(qpi/vtt/IMC) voltage. So as long as your vccio voltage is at least 1.1v you can run your ram at 1.65v without damaging the processor. If you're still worried about any damage you can find some ram that runs at 1.5v or even try undervolting your Kingston HyperX Genesis.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 11:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

I see, I will consider getting a Corsair Vengeance LP 1600mhz for my i7 2600k. But as stated in intel website, i7 is designed to support up to 1333mhz dual channel memory only, will it has an issue when it pair with 1600mhz dual channel memory?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 11:53 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

Intel only officially supports 1333mhz DDR3. It's up to the board manufacturers to support higher speeds. That Asus board will support up to DDR3-2133.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2011, 11:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the info.

Does it has serious problem when running 1.65v kingston hyper x genesis on a asus mobo which support only up to 1.5v memory?
Because I heard corsair ram in my area has higher failure rate and I would want to consider kingston hyper x which is 1.65v.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Kingston HyperX 120GB SATA3 SSD, ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 FredDurstIsStillCool Buy/Sell & Trade 59 April 28, 2012 05:01 AM
Kingston DDR3 1600 HyperX Genesis Grey vs Blue bel07 RAM 7 December 2, 2011 02:31 AM
OCZ Agility 3 & Kingston HyperX Beastylemon Storage 2 September 26, 2011 08:55 AM
can't get kingston hyperx to run at 2000mhz mrbmello Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 14 September 19, 2010 08:29 AM
Kingston HyperX chibi_man RAM 8 January 29, 2008 02:26 PM