Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 06:15 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default Ram cache

Hey guys, I just bit the bullet and upgraded to 16gb of ddr3, mostly because I heard rumblings about setting up a ram disk for caching to improve performance and hopefully take some usage off my ssd.

Just wondering if anyone can point me in a solid direction for walk throughs on how to do this? I really only need 4gb of ram, the other 12gb I want to use as a ram disk for my windows cache.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 08:45 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,105

My System Specs

Default

Personally I think ram drives are a complete waste. And setting one up just to save a few writes on an SSD is kind of pointless. The SSD's controller will die well before the NAND will start to die.

But you could use the ram as a cache for the drives. It will help a lot w/ write performance as well as make writing to the SSD a little easier on the drive since all of the writes will be sequential instead of random. For this you could use FancyCache. For me I have a 4GB read/write cache set for my Crucial M4 boot drive. I also use another 2GB as write cache for a mechanical drive that I use for downloads & SageTV recordings. There is a 3 month trial of the beta if you want to give it a shot. I've had good luck w/ it over the past few months.

What my settings look like for my boot drive cache.

__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 10:39 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Caching for my mechanical drives, which is where my games and most used programs are normally stored, is what im mostly interested in. Im going to take a look at this fancycache, seems right on the money for what im looking at. Thanks lowfat
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2011, 10:51 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Started a cache for both my os SSD and my games/programs volume on my WD 640 black and Im already noticing a huge difference in program start up times =)
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best SSD for Cache drive Birk Storage 0 November 26, 2011 10:47 AM
New Build - Large partitioned SDD for cache vs smaller faster cache SSD? selborne New Builds 2 May 29, 2011 04:08 PM
Question About The L* Cache mlauzon CPU's and Motherboards 2 September 4, 2007 11:12 AM