Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 10:14 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Yup 8GB definitely yields noticeable improvement these days (assuming of course you have a 64bit OS).

If you don't have 8GB, I suggest upgrading. Especially with the relatively low prices of DDR3 right now.

I have a friend that went from laggy BF3 to smooth BF3 just by upgrading from 4GB to 8GB. That's with a HD5870 and Q6600.

I would have to say 8GB is the new "standard" since 4GB simply no longer is sufficient IMO. Even right now, with just Firefox (~415MB), Steam (~100MB), Origin (~70MB) and Pidgin (~25MB) running, I'm at 2.6GB total usage.
Yeah upgrading from 4-8GB made a huge difference for me for BF3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2011, 11:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fort St. John, BC
Posts: 1,217

My System Specs

Default

I personally think 6GB is the sweet spot for almost everyone, but it's hard to do without triple channel ram :P I echo most people by saying 4GB is barely enough as it won't cover all of your bases all the time.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 03:09 AM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Yeah get 8GB kit if you can. I have 4GB kit and I find playing BF3 it is not enough, now looking to see what will work for my mobo for 8GB kit.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 08:20 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

For most people 4gb is fine. Nothing is really taking advantage of more than that unless your person who is heavy into cad or video stuff.

When a game is using large amounts of ram to me that mean its poorly coded. How can the PS3 and the 360 run BF3 with the ram it has?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 08:52 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

How about the fact it's running at piss poor resolution and quality?

Regardless of the fact a game is badly coded or not that was not the OP's question. He was asking if there was an advantage to 8GB of RAM over 4GB..... and there is.

I'm definitely pushing the limits of my 8GB. I eat up a lot of memory with web browsers. I've even made the damn thing swap before.

Last edited by Perineum; November 27, 2011 at 08:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2011, 09:04 AM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Well I have very nice 4 gig kit, its corsair dominators cl8. But my heatsink is huge and I cant add anymore of them. I could get another pair of those, but they are friggin expensive.

Anyways, I dont have a set up yet as my mobo is with gigabyte and they take forever, word of advice, buy msi stuff as their rma center is in ontario.

Anyhow, I ended up buying some stuff from memoryexpress but they called me and told me the price beat I had entered is out of stock, of course it would be out of stock as they checked after a day.

But good news is I checked Canada computers and I wanted a 16 gb kit that was on sale for blackfriday but were sold out. However, I looked again this morning and found they had 3 in stock near my house? I got there exactly at 11am when they opened up, went to the counter bought the kit and came home lol. With tax it was 85. something.


Canada Computers | Memory | Corsair Vengeance Low Profile Blue 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz CL9 1.5V DIMM (CML16GX3M4A1600C9B)
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2011, 09:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Increasing your RAM never hurts. I you currently have 4GB and are gaming, I would suggest 8GB. 4GB is sufficient for those who do day-to-day tasks. Adding games into the mix will increase the need for system resources. If you start to run out of RAM your system will start swapping files with your hard drive; which can wear out your HD. I would highly recommend 8GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
O/C Difference lechumbl Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 13 September 25, 2011 04:39 PM
[FS] E8400 @4Ghz, Asus P5E, Thermalright Ultra90 & 8gig Mushkin DDR2 kingnubian Buy/Sell & Trade 5 June 3, 2010 07:47 AM
is there a difference gingerbee O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 December 9, 2009 09:44 AM
What is the difference? akbg Storage 5 October 16, 2008 04:51 PM
Wow.. Big difference Infiniti Water Cooling 8 December 25, 2007 07:24 PM