Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 08:56 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default DDR3 upgrade

I want to up my ram to 3x4GB. My choice is
Gskill ripjaw F3-12800CL9T-12GBRL
9-9-9-24 2N at 1.5v

I am running 3x2 OCZ at 8-8-8-24 1T at 1.64v

Will I get a performance degrade going to Gskill?





Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 09:04 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

You may loose a little performance however the G.Skill are known to be good overclockers so what you loose in baseline performance might be almost nil once you overclock them up a little.

But to start with, you need more then 6gb of ram? Or want more then 6gb of ram?

I can see the need to go to 8 from 4 but 6 to 12, I think 6 is more then enough for the heaviest gamer around unless you also do alot of movie editing, CAD, ect.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 09:14 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your quick reply.
I am running photo editing software, open 3 of them since they do different things. Also, I loaded over 3000 photos into memory. I think linux has a ramdisk as well, so At the height, I am left with about 1.7GB left, and sometimes it crashes, and I do not know why it crashes. Sometimes I get kernel failure notice with nothing loaded. I am now suspecting my OCZ ram which runs at 1T.

My thought is that if I do not upgrade my total ram now, I will not be able to do it in the future, given that the newer boards are running four channels.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 09:55 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

So you have 2 issues.

A. You ram or something related might be defectice. Have you run any memtest or the likes to check your current ram?
B. You might not have enough for your needs so 12gb, while still available in triple channel, might be a good idea indeed.

I'd still check to see if your current memory is causing your issues before buying new parts.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2011, 12:23 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

Thanks. I have not tested the ram for the last 2 yrs. It was ok when I first built it. I'll do it again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2011, 07:27 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

I have decided to upgrade to 12 GB. Now, I found another set that is on sale

Corsair Vengeance 3x4 ddr3 1600 CL9 (9,9,9,24) 1.5v ($80)

How does it compare to
Gskill ripjaw F3-12800CL9T-12GBRL
9-9-9-24 2N at 1.5v ($90)

Corsair does not state if it is 2N, not in their own website.

The price is close, but I want to get the best of these 2.

TIA for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2011, 07:00 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 446

My System Specs

Default

Since there are no replies, I went ahead and bought
Corsair Vengeance 3x4 ddr3 1600 CL9 (9,9,9,24) 1.5v ($80)

Dropped it in, enabled XMP, 1.5v, and adjusted the timing to 9,9,9,24,1T, and 1600MHz. Did 35 passes of memtest86+ (test no. 5). Seems to run well. A little less heat than the OCZ Gold. CPU is already oc. Tried to oc the ram, but no go. It probably takes trial and error from the beginning. I think I'll leave it for now.

The reason I need 12 GB is that I am running sometimes very close to 500 MB free, and with ram disk, it getting very close. I chose Corsair over G.Skill over the 1T for Corsair and 2T for G.Skill and $10 cheaper.

BTW, the POST process seems to take longer, before the splash screen appears. Maybe it takes longer to test 12 GB instead of the previous 6GB.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade my PC: 4GB DDR3 or xfire 5770 billy New Builds 3 May 31, 2010 08:10 AM
should I upgrade to i7/ddr3/x58 now? lanken123 CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 1, 2009 04:45 PM
FS: Rampage Extreme, 4GB CSX Diablo DDR3 2000, 4GB OCZ Gold DDR3 1600MHz, E8600 zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 13 November 15, 2008 04:30 PM
Team Group Introduces DDR3-1800 & DDR3-2000 4GB Memory Kits MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 September 17, 2008 08:03 PM