Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 03:47 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default New Memory Price

Hi all,

Just bought this memory at Newegg:
Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory Model PXD38G1866ELK.

The 16 GB I bought was listed for $165.98 USD, but with 40 dollar instant savings and a $20.00 mail in rebate, it came to 105.98.

Not too bad.

Here is the link, for those interested:
Newegg.com - Patriot Viper Xtreme 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000) Desktop Memory Model PXD38G1866ELK

Take care.........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 05:00 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

I have the 2x4G same kit. Seems to work fine. Guys at the local MemEx said they've had issues with some other Patriot stuff but the top of the line stuff is tip top notch.

Having not bought anything in a while, it came as a surprise to me that the rebate is by way of an AmEx prepaid card.

MemEx gave me the wrong promo code and my claim was denied For $20 I'm not going to worry about it. Which is what the rebate granter hopes, I know. Meh.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 05:07 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi keto,

Promo code is right this time, already have paperwork printed out and waiting for memory for required documentation.

I have Patriot in my 6 core system, and it screams!!

Take care.......
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 05:24 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

them patriots are good
had a set and can do 2200mhz easy
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 05:29 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Too bad 16G kits are so rare in the higher speeds...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 05:34 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightninstrikr View Post
Too bad 16G kits are so rare in the higher speeds...
Hi bud,

Two 8 GB kits works just as well. (As long as you have 4 slots. )
At least I believe so?

Take care............
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 06:21 PM
lightninstrikr's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lechumbl View Post
Hi bud,

Two 8 GB kits works just as well. (As long as you have 4 slots. )
At least I believe so?

Take care............
Every now and then you run into issues since they are only guaranteed to work (and tested) with the ones in the same kit...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 06:30 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi lightninstrikr,

That is correct.

That is why you put one kit in slots 1 and 3 and the second in slots 2 and 4.
Problem solved.

I personally mark each kit, so they can not be separated and mixed up, and each set remain in their own kit.

Take care........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 06:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lechumbl View Post
Hi bud,

Two 8 GB kits works just as well. (As long as you have 4 slots. )
At least I believe so?

Take care............

if you think you gonna run @ high speeds with 4x4 gl to ya lol
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2011, 06:47 PM
lechumbl's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
Posts: 240
Default

Hi zsamz_,

Works well enough to get 60k+ PPD in F@H on this one system.
My other system gets 28K+ PPD.

Good enough for me.

Take care..........
__________________
Regards,
Lee



* F@H Unit Points *
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Memory Announces New AMD Black Edition Ready G2 Series Memory Kits Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 14, 2011 10:57 AM
New Memory express price match policy BootlegUsher Off Topic 15 May 22, 2011 12:43 PM
G.Skill Releases the World's Fastest Memory, DDR3 2500 MHz Dual-Channel Memory Kit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 April 14, 2010 08:49 AM