Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 05:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Default Upgrading my ram, couple questions

I've slowly been keeping my PC up to date. RAM, CPU and my mobo are starting to lag behind now though. Specs are:

ASUS P7P55D-E (I think)
i5 750 @ 4ghz
4GB G.Skill DDR3-2000 (PC3 16000) G.SKILL-Products
sapphire HD6870 (Adding another for crossfire very soon)
corsair tx750 PSU

I wanted to upgrade my ram for BF3 (If I even need to, I could hold off on it, I just feel my ram would be lacking after I get my second gpu.) I had planned to just get another 4gb of the same ram but I built my pc a couple years ago and can't find it on sale anywhere now. So my questions are; should I just try to find a similar 4gb kit and will they work together?
For example:
http://ncix.com/products/?sku=42745&...l&promoid=1055


I've heard the mobo will just use the lower frequency ram but would the speed be a problem? And how would this effect my OC? trying to find similar 2000(16000) ram is ridiculously expensive.
Would I just be better off buying a whole new 8gb kit or is getting another 4 the right thing to do? Is there any performance differences to using 4x2gb or 2x4gb?

Basically all I would like is someone to recommend me which ram to buy (preferably sold at ncix) and tell me how it might effect my overclock. I'd like to think I know a decent amount about computers but I feel lost on ram (mobo's as well ;p )

Thanks for any help, sorry for the wall of text.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 05:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

as long as it's similar, it should be perfectly fine. it might take a slight more effort to overclock properly if you do overclock the ram, but otherwise all your other questions would be answered with a 'no / don't worry about it'

and from what I can tell, BF3 isn't a ram hog at all anyways. you might be just fine @ 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 05:32 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

BF3 is indeed a RAM hog, i have troubles playing it with 4GB of RAM. I get stutters because of it quite often, as my ram usage is at 100%. This is with a fresh install of windows, with nothing but chrome & irc running.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2011, 05:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

I'll have to check myself again later, I don't remember when I checked, maybe the game wasn't fully loaded.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple NAS questions biff Storage 6 March 28, 2011 08:58 AM
couple of questions Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 6 October 11, 2010 06:14 PM
Couple of questions Lpfan4ever Storage 3 May 20, 2010 12:04 PM
A couple questions Lpfan4ever Water Cooling 16 March 1, 2009 07:01 PM
Couple questions Sniper Water Cooling 10 May 23, 2008 10:51 AM