Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2011, 09:29 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
I recently went from 8GB to 16GB with my 2600k and haven't had to touch my current OC (4.5GHz) and it's just as stable as it was before.
I would say might as well go 16GB now while memory is cheap. I upgraded because I figured RAM isn't going to get much cheaper, but it will get more expensive as it gets older. Max out while you still can! :)

My thoughts exactly. Im planning to build my parents a new computer rig in the next few months and had a chance to get 16GB Corsair Dominator (this one exactly: Newegg.ca - CORSAIR Vengeance 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 ) $95 shipped to my door.

So ill give them the 8GB G. Skill thats currently on my rig and use the corsair on mine. Personally, this is a good time to buy ram very cheap.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2011, 07:26 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

I like how everyone is like OOOH buy lots of ram cause its cheap.

Nobody said this in the DDR2 era. There really is no point in buying more than 4gb of ram unless you are absolutely needing it regardless of costs.

Unless you want to be one of those people who says OMG I have 24gb of ram.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2011, 04:35 PM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Unless you want to be one of those people who says OMG I have 24gb of ram.
OMG I have 16gb of ram and I can finally run multiple system intensive processes while running my VM's!!!
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2011, 04:53 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I like how everyone is like OOOH buy lots of ram cause its cheap.

Nobody said this in the DDR2 era. There really is no point in buying more than 4gb of ram unless you are absolutely needing it regardless of costs.

Unless you want to be one of those people who says OMG I have 24gb of ram.

I did.

4 gigs of RAM was $50. So I bought 2 pair. It was too cheap to buy just 4GB.

All of my clients claimed a speed increase from 4GB to 8GB as well....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 06:35 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonesy View Post
OMG I have 16gb of ram and I can finally run multiple system intensive processes while running my VM's!!!
If you take 8gb out, is there a significant difference?

I read that there's not a major difference between speeds and that it's a more intriguing measurement. The speed 1333mhz is standard for sandybridge processors and going higher doesn't give that much compared to the price for higher speed RAM.

But, I would think with a virtual machine, being able to assign more RAM per VM would mean a difference so 8gb vs 16gb might be a worthwhile comparison. I mean, the additional RAM would, in theory, make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 08:28 AM
Jonesy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 180

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borg View Post
But, I would think with a virtual machine, being able to assign more RAM per VM would mean a difference so 8gb vs 16gb might be a worthwhile comparison. I mean, the additional RAM would, in theory, make a difference?
It will make a huge differnce. Being able to allocate 2gb of ram per Server 08, which is 4gb right there, a server core @512mb. As well as allowing me to run more then 1 Win 7 (also @2gb) I would be able to rock 2 servers, 1 server core, and 2 hosts per server. So a total of 12.5gb with my host @ 3.5gb to smoothly run.
__________________
Origin ID = xXFlatlinedXx
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 09:04 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borg View Post
If you take 8gb out, is there a significant difference?

I read that there's not a major difference between speeds and that it's a more intriguing measurement. The speed 1333mhz is standard for sandybridge processors and going higher doesn't give that much compared to the price for higher speed RAM.

But, I would think with a virtual machine, being able to assign more RAM per VM would mean a difference so 8gb vs 16gb might be a worthwhile comparison. I mean, the additional RAM would, in theory, make a difference?
Exactly this! For people who do very basic and minimal things and I'm including gaming here on their systems the difference between 4 > 8 > 16 is going to such a minimal difference that just because you can buy doesn't necessarily mean its going to be useful.

For those who do things that CAN take advantage of it by all means spend spend.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 10:09 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,308
Default

With 16GB only costing about 50 bucks more than 8GB, why bother with 8GB? Sure many people will never notice the difference. BUT it is good and simple and CHEAP "future proofing". It also comes in handy if one stick goes bad as you STILL can downgrade to 8GB while you RMA'ing. Unless a budget is extremely TIGHT seriously why go with less?
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 11:23 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

Completely agree. Does not make sense to go with less unless you're under an extreme budget or the amount per stick of RAM is high.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2011, 11:27 AM
NI3 NI3 is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 246
Default

People said you wouldn't need 4GB to play games back in 2006-7, but those that thought ahead and bought 4GB when it was cheap in 2007 didn't need to buy more ram for 4 years. The people who said not to buy 4GB, because it is a waste, later had to pay more per GB than those that bought in 2007.

Long story short:
Buy 16GB, won't need to upgrade for 4 years, DDR4 will be the norm.
Buy 8GB, need to upgrade in 2 years, pay $20 more. (actually probably more than that)

Last edited by NI3; September 21, 2011 at 11:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus Transformer 16gb Infiniti Price Check 1 August 22, 2011 08:49 AM
[FS] iPhone 4 16GB $450 JoshOohAh Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 24, 2011 08:27 PM
[WTB] 16GB MicroSD card. ImmaPC Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 6, 2010 08:35 PM
[FS] iPhone 3G 16GB Black Lima Buy/Sell & Trade 11 November 27, 2009 06:38 PM
Looking for 16GB OCZ2VU80016GQ artistpavel RAM 4 March 5, 2009 12:12 PM