Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 03:20 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default Windows exp rating drop after combo switch

Heres my issue, I went from AMD 955BE to Intel 2500k setups, that is while retaining the same ram modules, CMD4GX3M2A1600C8 is the kit I used 2x2 dual channel 1600 speed corsair dominator modules.
In the process my windows rating dropped from 7+ to 5.9........not sure why? is it bad ram for intel?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 05:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

well what were your individual scores before and after?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 06:18 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

__2500k ____ 955be(estimate)


Proc:7.5 _____7
Ram:5.9 _____7+
GPU1:7.9 ____7.9
GPU2:7.9 ____7.9
HDD:5.9 _____7+(OS was on SSD )
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 06:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

who cares?

the experience guide is a joke.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 03:57 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
who cares?

the experience guide is a joke.
Apparently I do if I take the time to make a post about it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 04:19 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

but why.. if your numbers are lower in synthetic benchmarks.. then you have a problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 05:30 AM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Your RAM is perfectly fine with Intel - there's absolutely no reason you should consider the Windows Experience numbers for anything other than a joke from Microsoft. Real benchmarks (as in gaming, encoding, etc) have proven Sandy Bridge to be light years ahead of Phenom II in terms of performance, that alone should let you question the validity of whatever magical formula Microsoft uses to calculate that bloody score.
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 16, 2011, 06:32 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,383

My System Specs

Default

The reason it i lower is because SB prefers 1.5v ram sticks, yours are 1.65v. I can't remember why this happens but you would see a performance boost if you changed to a 1.5v kit.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 06:30 PM
EverlastingLLZ's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

It might be a problem with the processor and RAM working together. Like JJThomp said "The reason it i lower is because SB prefers 1.5v ram sticks, yours are 1.65v. I can't remember why this happens but you would see a performance boost if you changed to a 1.5v kit."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2011, 06:32 PM
EverlastingLLZ's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pakistan
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

And forgot to mention. Make sure that the CPU FSB and RAM BUS ratio be 1:1. Like for me I have 1066Mhz CPU and 533Mhz RAM. Do the math and you'll understand.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2600K Windows rating sstrucel Troubleshooting 2 August 28, 2011 10:10 PM
Can I add a cpu with slightly diff speed rating to existing single CPU config? HoTiCE_ CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 1, 2010 08:52 PM
How to switch motherboard without reinstalling Windows XP apvm Guides & How-to's 12 March 1, 2010 12:02 AM
Ram speed rating vs actual low351 RAM 7 February 21, 2008 10:33 AM
RAM Speed lower than rating CasheKicker RAM 10 February 18, 2008 02:39 PM