Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 05:35 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,368

My System Specs

Default

Hoping to start my build soon. Other threads are saying that the problem only occurs with the Crucial Ballistix 8500 speed sticks. If I start having wonky problems, should one of the first places I look at be the ram voltages? If so, should I just bump them up to 2.2 or move them up gradually from 1.8? Thanks a lot.
__________________
Asus Z97-A - Intel i7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x8 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 2400 - EVGA GTX960 4GB
1x240 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 1X2 TB Western Digital Green - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Rosewill Photon 850 - 2X24" Acer G246HYL - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1

The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 10:30 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterlarry View Post
Other threads are saying that the problem only occurs with the Crucial Ballistix 8500 speed sticks. If I start having wonky problems.....
You might or you might not....You'll never know....All I know is that my Ballistix tend to give me a hard time a lot and that it is extremely picky on what it does and doesn't want to do!

But those are just my two sticks! LOL
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2008, 10:35 AM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,873
Default

I've got 6 sticks of Ballistix Tracer 800MHZ stuff, and they do seem picky, but in the end they all seem to work fine. Just be sure to give them the volts they want, and also they will need some form of active cooling.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
i5 4690K @ 4.5GHZ
SLI GTX 670 FTW
8GB GSkill Ripjaws X 2133MHZ CL10
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 240GB Patriot Blaze SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W1070 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block x 2, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GA-P35-DS3R - no bios/boot Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 5 March 13, 2008 07:25 AM
ds3r SB heatsink Mr. Cipher Air Cooling 22 February 28, 2008 03:39 PM
Gigabyte P35C-DS3R tom.mullie CPU's and Motherboards 7 January 21, 2008 09:06 PM
Reviewer Tryouts: GA-P35-DS3R Mr. Cipher Member Reviews 10 November 20, 2007 08:20 PM
Synthesis of four Gigabyte P35-DS3R reviews Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 4 June 4, 2007 10:18 AM