Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2011, 05:59 PM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default Adding More Ram.

Hello Hello,

I have had my system for about a year now and I thought it would be time I made a small upgrade to my computer. I wanted to add more memory, but to my surprise I could not find the same RAM sticks I bought last year.

I have G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM, but I could only find online vendors that sold F3-12800CL7D-2GBRM. Specs look the same, but I am not sure. I wanted to make sure that the RAM sticks are compatible with each other before I made the purchase.

Are these two RAMS compatible?
- G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM
- G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7D-2GBRM

Thanks for all the help,
Michael
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2011, 11:26 AM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I don't see why they wouldn't work. Do you have pictures of the ones you want to buy? If they have the same heat spreaders then they should be compatible. Alternatively, you could always buy a 2x4GB kit and replace your current RAM modules with the 8GB kit.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2011, 12:06 PM
Charmster's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 49
Default

Let's say I buy the 2x4GB RAM. Is it possible to use my old 2x2GB in tandem to get 12GB of memory (since both sets seem to have the same specs, except for the size of the Modules)?

Heat spreaders look the same for the 2 RAM modules mentioned above. (They are also the same for the 4GB modules except the heat spreaders are black.)
__________________
System Specs:
AMD Phenom II x4 965BE @3.6GHZ
CM 690 II Advanced
CM Hyper 212+
Corsair TX750W PSU
Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL7-2GBRM - 4GB
EVGA GeForce GTX 650Ti Boost
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 21, 2011, 12:22 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,796

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charmster View Post
Let's say I buy the 2x4GB RAM. Is it possible to use my old 2x2GB in tandem to get 12GB of memory (since both sets seem to have the same specs, except for the size of the Modules)?

Heat spreaders look the same for the 2 RAM modules mentioned above. (They are also the same for the 4GB modules except the heat spreaders are black.)
Yes. That can be done.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2011, 08:24 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 148
Default

Probably talking milliseconds, but suggest you place the newer memory in the first dual channel set followed by your original.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2011, 09:36 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

If you're not doing a heavy OC, you should be ok. From my experience, the more ram sticks you have, the less stable they become when overclocking. Matched ram kits are always better.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2011, 10:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

ya you can mix and match them. if different speeds, then the slowest speed determines what they run at

you just may not notice a big improvement over 4 gb
depending on what you do
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 6, 2011, 04:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Woncouver
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
If you're not doing a heavy OC, you should be ok. From my experience, the more ram sticks you have, the less stable they become when overclocking. Matched ram kits are always better.

I thought it also had to do with the size of the modules like 1-2GB sticks overclock with more stablity not only from a memory point of view but a CPU O/C as well... am I wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding another SSD to my rig Mayoo Storage 5 June 22, 2011 05:24 AM
Adding to an partition? Cadence Storage 2 November 11, 2010 10:41 AM
adding a sig tag for F@H? Putz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 September 15, 2009 12:04 PM
Adding blocks? Fudd Rucker Water Cooling 11 July 8, 2009 07:42 PM
Adding a HDD that has Data and an OS on it to another PC Triggz Troubleshooting 6 March 10, 2009 01:07 PM