Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 12:05 AM
Nevakonaza's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 73

My System Specs

Question Upgrade to 8gb worth it?

So i currently have 4gb of ram.

G-Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz Ripjaws Memory Kit CL7(7-8-7-24) 1.6V

And was wondering do you guys think it would be worth getting another 4gb to make a total of 8GB?

I donít particularly use programs that are ram hungry, But my system uses around 1.6G idle...not sure what it used under load.

Why im asking about the upgrade, I want to make sure my rig will handle the up coming Battlefield 3 with no problems,Especially since it will have huge maps but i assume im good to go as my GPU has 2GB of dedicated vram?

What you think?

My system specs-
i7 860 @ 3.8Ghz
|Gigabyte GA-P55-US3L
4GB Ripjaws 1600Mhz CL7
HD6950 OC Twin FrozR III Power Edition 2GB (900/1325)
Vertex 2 60Gb SSD
500GB +250GB HDD
Asus Xonar D1
7 Home Premium X64.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 02:28 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

open up resource monitor and check.

last i checked 64 bit was to be used on systems with a minimum of 4 gigs which yours has ...:)

still,if you want to play it safe ram is cheap these days.

get a 2x4 kit and keep your 2x2 for practice or an older rig's needy upgrade's path
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 01:59 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Tillsonburg, Ontario
Posts: 916

My System Specs

Default

I personally just upgraded to 16GB of RAM (see my sig), and I love it personally as I have no lag even switching between windows or games (have a few games where it takes a few to respawn so I play CS:S and HON at the same time with no lag whats so ever!
__________________


Comp1 (Mine) : ASUS P9X79 LE, 3960X, 16GB Corsair Vengence 1333, PNY 770 4GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB, OCZ Vertex3 480GB, 600GB VelociRaptor, Corsair 1000HX, Cool Master Cosmos 2

Comp2 (Wife's) : ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2700K, 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866, 1TB HD, 2TB HD, EVGA 660, Corsair 1000HX, HAF 922

Comp3 (Kids) : ASUS P8P67 Pro, i7 2700K, 8GB 1866 GSkill, Gigabyte 770, Crucial M4 120GB, OCZ Vertex3 240GB,1TB WD Black, Antec 850W, Antec 120
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 05:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 9
Default

I went from 8 to 16gig. Its cheep and I did notice better performance
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 05:52 PM
bkh2's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 265

My System Specs

Default

With RAM prices being so low right now, you can't go wrong if you have the money. Consider buying an 8GB kit (2x4GB) and add it to your existing RAM for a total of 12GB. The price difference between a 4GB kit is minimal compared to an 8GB kit.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 05:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

Any difference that you notice between 4 to 8 gb is all very minimal... as even 64bit OS is still limited to most apps being 32bit.

Only reason you see huge amounts of ram in systems is cause its so cheap
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 06:23 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Any difference that you notice between 4 to 8 gb is all very minimal... as even 64bit OS is still limited to most apps being 32bit.

Only reason you see huge amounts of ram in systems is cause its so cheap
This. Ram is extremely overrated these days. Building a new system it makes sense to move to 8GB since it is dirt cheap. But if you already have 2x2GB, then there is no reason to upgrade IMO.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 06:45 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,076

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
This. Ram is extremely overrated these days. Building a new system it makes sense to move to 8GB since it is dirt cheap. But if you already have 2x2GB, then there is no reason to upgrade IMO.

Well before you declare that I would ask one question of the OP, do you have or run any virtual machines? I ask as going up to 8GB can make a difference if you have a virtual machine running in the background. Also while yes most apps are still only 32bit and only use 4GB at the most, we all do more and more multitasking. We all have more and more running in the background and having that extra 4GB can make a difference. I know I routinely see only 2 or so GB free on my system when running something like the Witcher and many other games.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 06:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,635
Default

32bit apps are limited to 2gb per process so even if you have 10 things running they can only allocate so much and will never use more than 4 :P
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2011, 06:58 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

well, my ff sometimes goes to 1 gig, i.e. half maybe, a few more programs and it gets easy to 3-4 gigs plus winders so
i wouldnt call that normal usage but still :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Worth the upgrade? Modus CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 23, 2010 06:27 AM
Is it worth the upgrade? Agafaba Display Units 1 May 27, 2010 12:36 PM
Worth the Upgrade..? r0k0 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 February 9, 2010 07:03 PM
Is it worth Upgrading to 8gb of ram jasonmoreau RAM 12 April 10, 2008 11:55 PM
8GB of ram. Worth it? Salavat23 RAM 28 December 24, 2007 11:42 AM