Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 05:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Red face Patriot Memory

I have put Patriot Memory (PDC22G8500ELK) into a system I have built for my kids. Its on a ASUS P5N-E SLI MB, e6750 cpu, 8800gt gpu. I have manually set the timings to the 5-5-5-15, and ever so often I BSOD. The part I can't figure is when I run memtester it passes, now if I swap out and put in OCZ reaper, no BSOD. any ideas? Oh and yeah, have benched the video card and stressed it with Nvidia Stability test, sissoft Sandra, and Everest, and it passed.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 05:56 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried raising the Vram by 0.1V?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:11 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Wink Vram by 0.1V

I'll give that a try and see what result I get.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:16 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

The Patriot ram may be borderline on stability, where your OCZ may have just enough volts. If upping the volts don't work, have you tried loosening the timings?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Default Auto timings

If I left timings on auto, would that stabilize it? Or just muck about them till I get it stable. I don't get the BSOD on every start, 1 out of every three maybe.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:29 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Yes, that would help stabilize. At least it would give you a rough idea. But the BSOD happens when you start the rig? What's the PSU?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Default PSU

coolermaster 600 sli
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Default Up'd mem voltage

I up'd the mem voltage to 2.35v, just noticed it was still set to auto.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:40 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a35599 View Post
I up'd the mem voltage to 2.35v, just noticed it was still set to auto.
You did what? 2.35V? Is the rig overclocked? If not, it should really not need 2.35V to run at stock timings - 2.1V maybe, but not 2.35V!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 06:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 77
Question Voltage

Yes, it is slightly overclocked, but the mem can handle 2.35 as stated in the spec card.
too much?

Patriot Memory - Products
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Extreme Performance 4X1GB PC2-8500 DDR2-1066 CL5-5-5-9 (D9s) Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 1, 2008 08:05 AM
Get Patriot Ram mailaw RAM 5 July 18, 2007 09:26 PM