Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 01:50 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default Manually load files into RAM?

I Googled this a few ways but didn't find anything that helped me out. For fun I am benching my new OCZ ATV 4GB flash drive. What I was thinking is can I load say 1GB of files into my Ram so I am not dealing with HDD read/write speeds when transferring the files back and forth from the USB --> HDD?

I am also using HD Tach free version to get synthetic read numbers but I want to do the real world thing. And if anyone has any other suggestions for benching this flash drive feel free to post em.

Thanks :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 02:02 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

have a look through these links.....

ramdrive - Google Search=

Apparently (just had a quick look through a few of them) there's even a microsoft Ramdisk...... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2008, 02:32 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Cool thanks! Had no idea I was looking for a Ram Drive. I will give 'er a go later today
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 08:20 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

If you were using Linux I would suggest using dd and /dev/ones.

You might be able to make Bart's Stuff Test work for you. Bart's Stuff Test 5
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 06:25 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
have a look through these links.....

ramdrive - Google Search=

Apparently (just had a quick look through a few of them) there's even a microsoft Ramdisk...... :)
I was able to get RamDisk to create a 1024MB Ram Disk! The trial version has full functionality for 15 days. Thanks mate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
If you were using Linux I would suggest using dd and /dev/ones.

You might be able to make Bart's Stuff Test work for you. Bart's Stuff Test 5
Thanks, I DL'd Bart's Stuff Test but seems I cannot use it on a device unless I buy the full version.

=======================

I will be posting my findings later, maybe in a full member review or something a little more casual. I know there is already a review of the 2GB version of this flash drive on here so maybe I'll post on another forum *shrugs*. Just glancing at the ATTO Disk Benchmark of the 2GB drive and my ATTO tests, I would say the 4GB version is much the same performance as the 2GB. It's not the fastest 4GB drive out there but for $25 I think I am getting my money's worth.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 10:29 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

One question about the Ram Disk I created using Ram Disk Plus. I transferred about 965MB of files to it. Then I transferred the files from the Ram Disk to my USB drive. When I transferred the files back to the Ram Disk from my USB drive... it took like 15 seconds as opposed to the usual 2+ minutes? Is this because my files were somehow "cached" in RAM? I tried it a few times and always got this result.

If I stored the 956 MB of files on my USB, then created a new Ram Disk that never had any data in it, and then transferred the files over to it from my USB drive... it took the usual 2+ minutes.

Just an observation I had and if anyone knows what's happening let me know.

Thanks.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2008, 11:52 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
One question about the Ram Disk I created using Ram Disk Plus. I transferred about 965MB of files to it. Then I transferred the files from the Ram Disk to my USB drive. When I transferred the files back to the Ram Disk from my USB drive... it took like 15 seconds as opposed to the usual 2+ minutes? Is this because my files were somehow "cached" in RAM? I tried it a few times and always got this result.

If I stored the 956 MB of files on my USB, then created a new Ram Disk that never had any data in it, and then transferred the files over to it from my USB drive... it took the usual 2+ minutes.

Just an observation I had and if anyone knows what's happening let me know.

Thanks.
If the ramdrive is setup the same as a hard drive I say run HD Tach or Tune on it and see what sort of speeds your getting with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Windows won't load, BSOD! donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 December 11, 2007 07:35 PM
Widescreen and avi files? bobaban Display Units 0 November 23, 2007 03:06 PM
Full Load/Temperature Questions Boat Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 12, 2007 12:27 AM
My Computer takes 4 ever to load kcksteve Troubleshooting 13 October 16, 2007 03:50 PM
Sharing files and folders mcgirkz Troubleshooting 0 September 13, 2007 12:22 AM