Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 12:42 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

Ram voltage is one thing; increase the NB voltage - this should help stabilize the extra humf needed to run 4 sticks.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 03:14 PM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

will try that, so far haven't had a BSOD since my last post with them running at those timings and playing WoW, but will increase the NB voltage on the next restart I do how much should I increase it? its running at 1.34v right now
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 03:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vintank View Post
will try that, so far haven't had a BSOD since my last post with them running at those timings and playing WoW, but will increase the NB voltage on the next restart I do how much should I increase it? its running at 1.34v right now
From 1.34 I think it goes to 1.4 which should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2008, 05:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vintank View Post
yeah really confused about it not sure what else to test as everything else runs stable

well running the 4gbs again reduced the voltage down to 1.8v and kept the timings at 5-5-5-18 see if that works at all
Reducing the voltage to 1.8V isn't going to help stability. That will just make it worse. You probably need 2.1V-2.2V to run that RAM at the rated speed.

Side note: Any pictures of your 900 with all the Noctua fans? I'm interested in how that looks.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2008, 12:20 AM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

still working on cable management as it really sucks with the OCZ GameXStream power supply, need to take a dremel and make some holes and plan out the wiring better, but I will take some pictures and post them even with the mess of wires, basically it looks dark right now as the only LED's are in the power supply and the two yellow lights that the motherboard has

and since setting the ram voltage down to 1.8v and at 5-5-5-18 2T for timings haven't had a BSOD in two days, going to try the 2.2v and 4-4-4-12 2T tomorrow and see how it goes.

as I won't use the 5-5-5-15 2T 2.2v for the 1066 speed as the motherboard doesn't support that speed only max of 800mhz for ram :( (not including when overclocking, just what it is rated for)
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD while playing COD4 3 times in a row zlojack Troubleshooting 31 January 21, 2008 11:38 PM
BSOD from iTunes? :| curtispan Troubleshooting 3 January 5, 2008 03:23 AM
HELP! Windows won't load, BSOD! donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 23 December 11, 2007 07:35 PM