Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 08:38 AM
icodeit's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 75
Default Confused 800mhz vs 1066mhz

Okay so I'm very confused at the moment.

Here is the deal, I'm going with an e8400 processor and Asus P5K-E wifi board.

What I can't figure out is what is better to go with DDR2 800mhz 6400 or DDR2 1066mhz 8500.

I find it very confusing since 6400 is more readily availble however in specs the 8500+ seem run faster.

I'm not a big overclocker, only mild when my machine ages a little.
Seeing as Tigerdirect has good deal on 6400 Crosair Twinx I'm kind of leaning that way. However it will be a while before I upgrade again.





Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 08:59 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

8500 is faster- you should get it. and it is a crying shame to buy that gear and not overclock it- you can get alot more performance out of it without diminishing lifespan. Those e8400s are screaming overclockers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 10:14 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icodeit View Post
Okay so I'm very confused at the moment.

Here is the deal, I'm going with an e8400 processor and Asus P5K-E wifi board.

What I can't figure out is what is better to go with DDR2 800mhz 6400 or DDR2 1066mhz 8500.

I find it very confusing since 6400 is more readily availble however in specs the 8500+ seem run faster.

I'm not a big overclocker, only mild when my machine ages a little.
Seeing as Tigerdirect has good deal on 6400 Crosair Twinx I'm kind of leaning that way. However it will be a while before I upgrade again.
Unless you plan to overclock 800mhz memory is perfectly fine for you cause even if you do overclock it you can still maintain a 1:1 ratio with FSB:RAM with 800mhz.

If your thinking of overclocking then the 1066 will be better.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 10:52 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

This mobo has native 1066 support according to these specs, so go for the 8500 even if you're not OCing

4 x DIMM, max. 8GB, DDR2 1066*/800 / 667 MHz, non-ECC, un-buffered memory
Dual channel memory architecture
* The chipset officially supports the memory frequency up to DDR2 800MHz. Tuned by ASUS Super Memspeed Technology, this motherboard natively supports up to DDR2 1066MHz
Please refer to ASUSTeK Computer or user manual for Memory QVL.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 06:20 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

With the 800 MHz and that processor's 9x multi, you're set right up to a 3.6 GHz overclock (if you want). And quite often, those 1066 MHz sets are just 800's with more voltage and looser timings.

If you not that concerned about serious overclocking, the extra cost associated with the 1066 MHz RAM, compared to it's VERY SLIGHT performance increase, probably isn't what you're looking for.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 07:48 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

oh, he will be overclocking......he wil be...moohahaha
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 08:36 AM
icodeit's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 75
Default

Thanks for the input guys. I'm thinking I might just go with 800mhz for now. My guess is that DDR2 costs will fall once DDR3 is mainstream, then maybe I can make the move to 1066mhz.

I would rather take the cost difference and maybe move up to E8500 instead of E8400. But I will have to see how I feel at the moment I place the order.

Once I get up and running cleanly then I will look for overclocking advice.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 09:41 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

DDR2 wont be getting any cheaper- It has hit great lows in late 2007 and it's going up now and will most likely continue to do so (rising cost of components)- good time to buy DDR2 now.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 09:49 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
oh, he will be overclocking......he wil be...moohahaha
Even overclocking you can push "good" 800mhz to 1066 :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2008, 09:59 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icodeit View Post
My guess is that DDR2 costs will fall once DDR3 is mainstream, then maybe I can make the move to 1066mhz.
Sounds logical but not true. DDR2 is as low as it is going right now, it is in maturity. Once DDR3 is mainstream there will be very little DDR2 production which will inc prices (low supply) just like DDR1 is more than DDR2 right now.
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC2 6400 800Mhz vs 8500 1066 Mhz rjbarker RAM 3 March 13, 2008 10:53 AM
Ram runs at 800MHZ but... bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 October 5, 2007 04:00 PM
I'm now confused Vcore real or not? Delavan Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 June 12, 2007 04:56 AM
Recomendation on DDR2-800MHz 2GB set BALISTX RAM 28 March 1, 2007 07:35 AM