Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 11:01 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default Dual Channel issue with AMD 3500+ 939

Hi, my friend bring me his computer because he had random lockup and crash.

i.ve start by running some memtest to see if the ram was stable or not.

memtest crashed the pc at all run. until i realised that he had put 4*512mb in his computer. 3 were corsair ddr400 and the last one wa sa kingston ddr266.

i have remove 1 corsair and the kingstone one.

the computer is now running fine with only 2 stick of ddr400. but even if i tried the 2 purple slot or the 2 green slot its always running single channel.

any idea???

the spec of this pill of junk are :

MSI k8n neo2 platinuin (939 + agp nf3)
athlon 64 3500+
2*512mb of corsair ddr400
60gb ide hard drive
2 cd burner
ultra 400w PSU
6800GT agp

i have no more idea of what to tried, every setting in bios make then work in single channel
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 11:11 AM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

With those 4 sticks you try running the memory at DDR-266 with a command rate of 1T.

To enable dual channel on that motherboard you have to use memory slots 1&2 or 3&4, not 1&3 or 2&4.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.

Last edited by werty316; January 21, 2008 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 01:23 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, for some reason many of the MSI boards don't use industry standard (same colours) for dual channel. :)

As far as running 4 sticks on an MSI board goes......

Have a look at the MSI site for info. Many of the MSI boards had issues running 4 sticks, and there is often a "preferred" bios version (not the most recent) which seems to have better luck running 4 sticks.

My first higher end board was an MSI but I gave up on them after the issues I had with bios updates and such.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2008, 02:48 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

im currently running 2 stick, because the 266 stick is freaky a bit

but for the color its writen on the PCB purple channel a green channel B

i cant image that you have to put 1 stick in channel A and one is channel B to work properly

EDIT: just found that for DC you need slot 1 & 2

MSI WTH ius that??? why ??
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb



Last edited by ebdoradz; January 21, 2008 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FS] Samsung 1GB DDR2 Dual Channel PC2-5300 SODIMM RAM rbinc Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 11, 2008 07:23 PM
Techgage reviews 2GB OCZ DDR3 PC3-10666 Platinum Edition dual channel kit Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 August 24, 2007 05:31 PM
S939 Dual Core back in the retail channel? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 1 July 7, 2007 02:42 PM
Optron165 + Dual Channel sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 12 May 1, 2007 12:31 PM
Geil DDR2 Ultra Plus Dual Channel kit pc6400 3-3-3-8 Babrbarossa RAM 12 March 17, 2007 07:25 AM