Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 03:40 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default 2500k RAM

For some reason I was under the impression that a 2500k could only use DDR3-1333 RAM.. However, reading on here I can see that people are saying that 1600 RAM would be easier to use for overclocking. I can still change my order with NCIX. I purchased this kit : Mushkin Enhanced Silverline Stiletto 8GB 2X4GB PC3-10666 DDR3-1333 9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit

Would is be better to go to this kit for a similar price, or would I not see much of a difference?


Mushkin Enhanced Blackline Frostbyte 8GB 2X4GB PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 C9-9-9-24 Dual Channel Memory Kit


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 03:41 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

And I am looking to overclock my system as much as I can..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

The 1600Mhz kit would be much better considering as you said it costs about the same. You may be able to find a different-branded 1600Mhz kit for even less.
__________________
About VRM's & MOSFETs - AMD motherboard VRM info - Optimizing Firefox
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T [4ghz @ 1.42v] - Gigabyte 790X - 8GB G.Skill ECO [DDR3 1600 6-8-6-20] - Intel 80GB SSD/WD 1TB HDD - Gigabyte GTS 450 - Lancool K58W - Noctua NH-D14 w/2 GT-15
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 04:19 PM
AKY AKY is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks.. I just canceled it. I am actually waiting to buy my mobo and CPU so I will see if I can pick up a kit of 1600 when they come out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 04:27 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

reason tells you that because of the unlocked multi you dont need to care about ram,lol.
usually yes but when you reach for that 5 something ghz? the last half a meter will or rather
can be quite weird. let me explain . i have a board here,mkay? i had to disable the lot of features ,
minus usb and network to get the last 50 mhz stable. and the ram clocked down. dont ask why,its
like that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2011, 04:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Grab some Patriot Sector 7 or 8. Great RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2011, 02:29 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

You won't see any real-world difference by switching to a different kit. The only difference you'll see is in benchmarks and the appearance of the heat-spreaders. Gaming and applications there is zero difference. You could run at 1000MHz or 1800MHz and there would be absolutely no difference in terms of real-world performance, nadda. If the Stiletto kit is the cheapest, I would stick with it. I went with the cheapest kit with heat-spreaders I could find at the time of purchasing my recent build, and that happened to be the 8GB Stiletto kit.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2011, 02:32 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
You won't see any real-world difference by switching to a different kit. The only difference you'll see is in benchmarks and the appearance of the heat-spreaders. Gaming and applications there is zero difference. You could run at 1000MHz or 1800MHz and there would be absolutely no difference in terms of real-world performance, nadda. If the Stiletto kit is the cheapest, I would stick with it. I went with the cheapest kit with heat-spreaders I could find at the time of purchasing my recent build, and that happened to be the 8GB Stiletto kit.
There is actually a significant real world difference running folding@home on faster ram.

Just sayin'
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2011, 05:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G777 View Post
There is actually a significant real world difference running folding@home on faster ram.

Just sayin'
Oops, my mistake. I'll correct myself and say games and the majority of applications won't see any performance increase.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 8, 2011, 12:13 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
Oops, my mistake. I'll correct myself and say games and the majority of applications won't see any performance increase.
you get 1-3fps more with faster ram
1866 is a minimum in my book
i run 2150+ cas7
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assistance with i5-2500K overclocking Modus Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 May 2, 2011 03:20 PM
i5 2500k first build advise luke778899 New Builds 5 February 27, 2011 01:51 PM
Cooler for i5 2500k - 1155 JPHarry Air Cooling 8 February 25, 2011 01:18 PM
i7 950 vs. i5 2500k (same price) Mack Daddy CPU's and Motherboards 17 February 17, 2011 09:32 PM
Need help with new 2500K system AKY Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 12 February 16, 2011 12:06 PM