Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > RAM

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 05:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default 1333mhz RAM Bottleneck??

Hello all, I recently purchased an intel i5 2500k and Patriot 2x2gb 1333mhz cl9 ram. After the fact I did some research and found out that the 1333mhz might bottleneck my cpu if i run it 4.0-5.0ghz. Is this true? By the way, it's a pain to go back to the store because it is hours away. Thanks, Mack Daddy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 06:40 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,568

My System Specs

Default

It won't provide any significant bottlenecking. The reason why people normally recommend 1600 ram over 1333 is because the price difference is negligible and it's easier to overclock your cpu with 1600 ram. (don't have to mess with multipliers as much as 1333) But since you're on a Sandy Bridge cpu, it shouldn't matter much.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 07:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

just in case set timings manually, and perhaps .05v more on the ram.

with an unlocked multi, as per above, you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2011, 07:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 11
Default

Ok thanks, it sounds like I won't have to return it :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2011, 04:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Not as huge a difference on Intel platforms as it is on AMD... certain apps it may prove a bottleneck, i.e. video editing, folding@home...

Just be sure it's proper 1.5V RAM and not some 1.65V garbage and you're good
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could my ram be the bottleneck? andynerd Troubleshooting 10 July 18, 2010 09:00 AM
[FS] Corsair XMS3 6x1gb 1.5v 1333mhz C9 $120 0o0 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 December 21, 2009 02:12 PM
Intel to speed up introduction of 1333MHz CPUs Eldonko Press Releases & Tech News 7 June 21, 2007 08:29 PM
Intel 1333MHz FSB CPU pricing Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 3 March 12, 2007 06:59 PM